Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been another good week – busy, but different. Here are some of the best parts of it:

1. An outdoor lunch. Great-grandma’s caregiver couldn’t come Tuesday due to having a sick child, so Jim worked from home partly to help take care of her and partly to work on something that he could do better at home without all the interruptions at work. It was a beautiful day, so we took GG (as we shorten her name in texts) in her wheelchair out on the back patio and the three of us had lunch together. It was just the perfect temperature to do that, and Jim and I don’t eat lunch together during the week very often, and I had brought Chick-Fil-A back after a trip to the store, so it was a treat all around.

2. Putting away winter clothes. Even though it’s supposed to get into the 20s again this weekend. πŸ™‚ We still have some sweaters and jackets handy in the front closet if we need them.

3. Greening and pinking of some of the bushes and trees in the yard. More signs of spring!

4. Progress on the project I mentioned last week. I had hoped to be done with it in time to show you today, but these things almost always take longer than expected.

5. Timothy crawling! He’s been working on it for some time, though we almost wondered if he was going to skip crawling and go straight to walking, as he seems to be trying to figure out ways to pull up on the furniture and can stand a few seconds at a time without help. But somehow Tuesday night it all clicked, and he took off! And now I need to buy outlet covers and put some items out of reach. πŸ˜€

Timothy standing

Happy Friday!

P. S. I am having a giveaway for the excellent book She Is Mine: A War Orphan’s Incredible Journey of Survival by Stephanie Fast. Leave a comment on my review of the book to enter – the drawing is Monday.

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Lunch on the patio sound wonderful. I don’t have any patio furniture at this time but I hope to have some in the near future! πŸ™‚
    Oh how sweet Timothy is! I’ll bet he is keeping everyone hopping!
    Yes, we expect the 20’s also in the overnight hours. I covered my strawberries back up yesterday.. Good thing! I woke to unexpected snow fall! {{sigh}} I hope those daffodils make it through. πŸ˜‰

  2. oh how I’m longing for the day I can have a meal on the deck!!! still too cold here at 44 degrees and grey! love the photo of the cute grandson! I will definitely head over to your book review!!!

  3. Ever since I put my thick winter pullovers away it is cold again ! Soon little Timothy will start to walk, my son never crawled, at his 1st birthday he stood up and walked alone from one chair to the other !

  4. What a GREAT list this week, Barbara. It is a treat to eat lunch with our hubbies during the week, isn’t it? That doesn’t happen with us very often, but when we do it is really special…and when you can do that on the patio…WOW!

    Looking forward to seeing pictures of that project you are working on…maybe next week. ~wink~ Better to take your time and enjoy it than to hurry through for pictures.

    Timothy surely is growing up! Our daughter actually did skip the crawling stage. She walked on her knees instead and then two weeks later stood up and walked. πŸ™‚ I’m glad that everything clicked for Timothy and he started crawling. I think it does the child good when it comes to coordination when they crawl.

    Have a great week!

  5. Timothy is growing so fast! All the time we think we can’t wait until the little one is mobile and then we realize, oh no, now we can’t keep up with him. Time to baby proof the house!
    Your lunch outside sounds lovely on so many different levels!

  6. πŸ˜€ I always love your pictures and comment about Timothy. Go, crawler!

    We have been flat out sick this week but one thing we did while mostly lounging around was to get out the wardrobe buckets and put away our winter clothes and see what fits for the next season. The kids always think this activity is a lot of fun so it proved a good distraction. πŸ™‚

  7. So glad you and hubby got to eat lunch together and what better lucnch that chick-fil-a! Enjoyed reading your Fav 5! Have a great Lord’s Day!

  8. And now the fun begins. Happy exploring, Timothy! How nice you all could get outside and enjoy that weather with a lunch outside. You and me are on the same wavelength with switching the clothes out.

  9. Oh, those sturdy little legs on Timothy! So cute. I’m amazed that even with 20s on the horizon, it was temperate enough for a lunch outside. What a lovely change in routine.

  10. Yes, what an adorable little crawler. Love, love him! I’m trying not to be envious of you, putting away the winter clothes and seeing trees budding. Although … if I look closely, there are just the slightest bits of crocus greenery popping out of the ground ….! Progress!

  11. Yes! Isn’t baby proofing the house wonderful? Or I should say, the “need for baby proofing.” We packed away our bookshelves for fear our little twinsies would turn them over on themselves.

    Lunch on the patio sounds delightful. I’m hoping for a Saturday picnic soon.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

