What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2015

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Often I am caught off guard when the fourth Tuesday of the month is not the last Tuesday, but this time I saw it coming. 🙂

Since last time I have completed:

Out of a Far Country: A Gay Son’s Journey to God. A Broken Mother’s Search for Hope by Christopher and Angela Yuan, reviewed here. Excellent – I am predicting it will be one of my top ten books of the year.

I Deserve a Donut (And Other Lies That Make You Eat) and Taste For Truth: A 30 Day Weight Loss Bible Study, both by Barb Raveling, reviewed together here. Excellent.

She Is Mine: A War Orphan’s Incredible Journey of Survival by Stephanie Fast, review and a giveaway here. Riveting.

To See the Moon Again by Jamie Langston Turner, reviewed here.

The Pursuit of God by A. W. Tozer, reviewed here.

My Emily by Matt Patterson, a family’s true story of a young daughter born with Down’s Syndrome who is then diagnosed with leukemia at the age of two, reviewed here.

Better To Be Broken by Rick Huntress, his personal testimony of God getting hold of his heart after an accident left him in a wheelchair, reviewed here.

The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder, reviewed here.

The Pound a Day Diet by Rocco DiSpirito, reviewed here.

That looks like more than usual – but one was a children’s book, and two were very short.

I’m currently reading:

A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily Freeman. Got off on the wrong foot with this one but am settling into it now. Will explain more when I review it.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, audiobook. I’m about 2/3 of the way through.

The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser

Songs of the Morning: Stories and Poems for Easter compiled by Pat Alexander, including excerpts from C. S. Lewis, E. B. White, and others.

Next Up:

Hard to say. I’m working on my reading plans for the year, and you people keep adding to my lengthy list of books I want to get to. 🙂 Once I finish War and Peace, I think I’ll get back to the Sherlock Holmes series via audiobook. Pioneer Girl by Laura Ingalls Wilder had been delayed but I am informed it is on its way now just arrived. I’ve seen several people mention Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and I just ordered it. I may need something lighthearted to break up some of the heavier reading.

What are you reading now?

11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2015

  1. I am currently reading some C.S. Lewis…four books in one, which was offered as a special at CBD. The first one, Surprised by Joy, is his autobiography. As I’ve been starting to regain some strength and energy I’ve been busier the last couple of weeks and I’ve not done much reading, I look for that to change soon! 🙂

  2. Yes, you look like you have had some heavy reading! I haven’t had a stretch like that in some time. My Bible reading is the “heaviest” reading I’ve done lately.

  3. Sounds like you are doing some heavy reading next month. Heavy reading is what appeals to me, but unfortunately, it’s not always the best thing for my mood.
    🙂

  4. I’m so excited to hear about Pioneer Girl! The book about the woman with a gay son sounds fascinated — I’ve marked it to-read. I, too, was touched by “My Emily.”

  5. I hit a snag this month and put two aside that I had planned to read. I’ll try again later. All done with the Mitford series now but I’ve learned that another one is coming out in September. I’d like to read “In Pursuit of God”. I’ve heard really good things about it.

  6. Hi Barbara
    I read The Boys in the Boat for book club last month. It is about the Olympic Rowing team from the ’30s. I learned a lot about rowing and also about how Hitler tried to put on a false face for the world while Germany hosted the Olympics. The author covered a lot of the background of the boys which was interesting.
    Also, just finished Guests on Earth which is a fiction based loosely on fact about the Mental hospital in the mountains of North Carolina when Zelda Fitzgerald was a resident. I enjoyed the history part but there didn’t seem to be any conclusion to the main character’s life.
    The Invention of Wings is a book I downloaded for audio listening on our recent bus tour. I just finished it yesterday….It is a wonderful book which portrays the relationship between a slave and her master’s daughter. The Daughter is not a fictional character but a person who worked very hard to educate people about the institution of slavery. It takes place mostly in Charleston prior to the Civil War.
    Mama Bear

  7. I need to read I Deserve a Doughnut. Sounds like something I’d say and I know it’s not true. 🙂

    Glad you’re still making progress through War and Peace. I’m still trudging through Middlemarch. I am enjoying it, but it is long.

    Excited to see Being Mortal on your to-read list. I think you’ll really appreciate it, especially since you have experienced so much already with your m-i-l in your home. I will always think you’re awesome for that!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

