Laudable Linkage and a Jan Karon Video

I didn’t do one of these last week because I only had two or three – and now this week I have several. That’s how it goes sometimes. But here is some noteworthy reading found in the last couple of weeks:

Moms Need Theology Too. Excellent. Not just for moms.

Adding to Our Faith? Good study of what 2 Peter 1:5 means when it talks about things we need to add to our faith.

5 Things People Blame the Church For – But Shouldn’t.

A Good [Wo]man is Easy to Find. Excellent piece about finding a mentor.

From Lesbianism to Complementarianism – one woman’s testimony.

Dear Gay Community: Your Kids Are Hurting. From the daughter of a gay couple.

An 11-Year-Old Boy’s Open Letter to Sports Illustrated.

Nancy Leigh DeMoss’s Advice to Young Writers and Speakers.

Solid Food for Little Ones. A list of books for young children that teach about God. Keeping in mind for future reference when my little grandson gets older.

Remember Card Catalogs? As a former librarian and avid reader, I loved this piece about people who take the old cards from library card catalogs and illustrate them.

I thought this was really cool. With a nerdy family who loves the Marvel universe films, Iron Man being one on them, I loved this video of Robert Downey, Jr. (aka Iron Man) delivering a bionic arm to a boy who has only a partially developed right arm.

And for Jan Karon fans, I saw on her Facebook page this announcement about her newest book coming out this fall!

I loved hearing her talk and watching her expressiveness! I also saw this post on her Facebook page saying that there might be a movie about Mitford and asking for suggestions about who should play which part. I hope if this comes to pass that they let her have creative control. I have mixed feelings – I love the books and would definitely see any film made from them, but I’m not sure I’d want any images other than the ones in my head. 🙂 But we’ll see.

Happy Saturday!

4 thoughts on “Laudable Linkage and a Jan Karon Video

  1. I saw the very touching interview with the little boy who got the arm from Robert Downey Jr. It was the kindest thing I think I have ever heard of him doing!
    And the new Karon book!!!! I will be caught up and ready for it!!!!! I can’t wait!
    Thanks for sharing that video.

  2. Oh! I heard someone say that there was ANOTHER Mitford book coming out. I thought perhaps their news was outdated. There IS another one coming? I’m going to have to pick up the pace and work through the series again. (I purchased the latest but haven’t read it because I can’t decide whether or not to read through and catch up again.)

  3. And NOW I’ve watched the video clip you’ve included. I’ve never seen her talk before. She IS a delight to listen to. A natural born storyteller and a kind hearted looking/sounding lady (in the truest sense of the word). That’ll be so fun! And I guess I really do need to pick up the pace….

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

