Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been another good week. Here are some of the best parts of it:

1. Pi Day. For years I have heard of other people celebrating “Pi Day” – March 14, the same numbers as pi (3.14 – even more remarkable in 2015 because the next numbers in the sequence are 15) by having pie on that day, and I thought it looked like a fun thing to do (and any excuse to eat pie is a good one! πŸ™‚ ). But I had never done it, usually because I didn’t think about it in time. But this year I did! We had hamburger pie for dinner and then dessert via a store-bought chocolate pie and a pumpkin pie from Christmas that had been in the freezer. It was fun.

IMG_1099

2. Cracker Barrel take-out. Love that place, but my husband doesn’t really care for it. Yet he agreed to bring some home for me one night. Nice man. πŸ™‚

3. Mittu’s dinner. We came home from church Sunday afternoon to a dinner already made by my daughter-in-law. So nice to just come in and sit down and eat!

4. Ceiling fans. During the first part of the week it was pretty warm out (60s and 70s, even got up to 80 one day), but I didn’t want to turn on the AC yet (although I finally did when it got up to 75 in the house one evening). But for the most part ceiling fans helped cool things off a bit as needed.

5. Starting a project that has been on my mind for more years than I want to admit. Trying to decide exactly what I wanted to do held me up for a long while, and then finding the time and motivation (at the same time) to do the preparatory work was a problem. But I got that much done this week and hope the actual execution will go pretty quickly. I had hoped to be finished with it by now, but maybe I will be by next week. Meanwhile, here is a sneak peek:

CIMG2048

Bonus: It’s officially the first day of SPRING!

It turned rainy and cooler the latter half of the week, but I’m still glad it’s not snow and ice any more, and I am looking forward to a sunny weekend. Happy Friday!

Note to Paula – I tried several times to comment on your FFF post but just kept getting a window saying “Error establishing a database connection.”

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I’ve had to turn the air on in the late afternoon when it gets to 80 degrees. By bed time, it’s off and the temps are great for sleeping. Cracker Barrel is one of my favorite places!

  2. My family generally jokes about celebrating Pi day, but rarely does apart from a few greetings back and forth. This year, of course, was special because of it being “ultimate” Pi day, and my 30th birthday. (Thanks for the Happy Birthday πŸ™‚ ).

    Tirzah Mae and I have been reveling in the warmer weather, going for walks and opening the windows and such – but Daniel generally announces that it’s TOO warm in the house when he gets home from work (perhaps because I’ve also added cooking to the mix by the time he gets home?)

  3. Never heard of a Pi day ! Soon we will have cake day, soup day etc lol !
    You are so lucky to have warm weather our heating is still on ! Your work looks nice !

  4. We were very close to turning on the A/C too! But we just made due with the fans. πŸ™‚ I love your fabric choices! Yay! for Mittu!!!! What a nice way to spend your Sunday afternoon.

  5. oh my goodness….i MUST know where (as in what state!!) you live in that you needed AC already!!!! up here in eastern NY our warmest day all week was Monday at 51. the sun felt GREAT! in fact, I do NOT Plan on turing in the AC until mid August IF we get high humidity with temps over 85. I am SOOOO looking forward to higher temps!! Your week sounds wonderful………we did Pi day too with a store bought Apple Pie as my oldest was home for spring break and one of her majors in college is Math πŸ™‚ Happy weekend, Barbara!! (i left you a comment at your book review about WHen Crickets Cry) πŸ™‚

  6. Yummy. I always forget about the pi day thing but your offerings look delicious. The fabric looks lovely. I love blue and white. Can’t wait to see the finished product! I need to borrow Mittu for awhile! πŸ˜‰

  7. Hmmmm, toile, checks, and braid. No idea. Looking forward to seeing the finished project.
    You are so very blessed to have a daughter in law so close, especially one who cooks Sunday dinner.
    A friend of mine posted on pi day at the month, day, year AND hour and minute that reflected the correct numbers! I simply woke up that day and realized the significance–I sure wasn’t prepared with pie πŸ™‚

  8. Hello Barb,
    I missed the Julie Andrews/Barbara Walters special too. I did find these two links which I am going to enjoy as soon as I am done posting on FFF’s.
    (1) http://theview.altervista.org/diane-sawyer-the-sound-of-music-with-julie-andrews-part-1/
    (2) http://theview.altervista.org/diane-sawyer-the-sound-of-music-with-julie-andrews-part-2/

    I have never been prepared for Pi Day. I love the three pies you served. πŸ˜‰ Pumpkin pie is always in season!

    I love the mix of the print with the check. Very spring-like. Perhaps you upholstered something? I am looking forward to the reveal too.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

