Friday’s Fave Five

 FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been a great week. Here are some of the best parts:

1. My husband’s birthday was Friday but we celebrated Saturday. Jason picked up take-out from Jim’s favorite Asian place, and it was a joy to have the family together (Jeremy via FaceTime) and celebrate God’s giving our husband, dad, and grandad to us. One of my favorite things, too, in looking back through the pictures, is seeing Timothy at different places throughout them. He isn’t crawling yet but is quite adept at rolling all over! He may skip right past crawling and go on to walking – he can stand on his own for increasing amounts of time.

IMG_1089

2. Wonderful temperatures. It has been in the 50s and 60s all week, so refreshing after the long cold spell we had. It’s been wet most of the week, but I don’t think we got as much rain as predicted, and I’m just glad it wasn’t ice and snow again. We did actually see sunshine  for a while on Thursday – much appreciated!

3. A normal week. I dearly love holidays, birthdays, family get-togethers, and so on, but they do take some time and effort to prepare for. We have Easter, Timothy’s birthday, and a visit from Jeremy all coming up in April, but between now and then there is nothing else on the calendar, nothing extra going on at church, no appointments. I’m enjoyed this first “normal” week immensely and got to rest a bit and then tackle a cleaning project I had been wanting to get to. I have a couple of other creative projects I hope to get to in the next week or two.

4. Being done with the dentist for a while. Since a routine x-ray showed some extensive decay under a filling last November, I’ve had oral surgery plus four dental appointments to take care of all of that and get a new bridge put in. Not something I wanted to deal with, but there was nothing to do but just go through the process. It’s finally done, thankfully. And since all of this maxed out my dental insurance coverage for the year already, my dentist’s receptionist rescheduled my cleanings so that instead of having two this year, I have one during the summer and one right after the new year, so it will go on next year’s insurance claim. Hopefully I won’t have need of the dentist beyond that.

5. Removable shelves. My extra cleaning project involved taking everything out of the shelves in the refrigerator door and giving them a thorough cleaning, something I have been wanting to get to for some time. I don’t know how crumbs and debris get into those when there’s nothing but bottles and jars there. But being able to take the shelves out and to the sink helped immensely in getting them cleaned out.

Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. What a great birthday photo, Barbara. So nice that you all were together for a family celebration.

    Ugh. Glad those dental days are behind you! Years ago, I had periodontal surgeries that had to be spaced out over a ten week period — one every week. I definitely sympathize!

    When someone invents a self-cleaning self-editing refrigerator, they will make a jillion dollars 😉

  2. Hurrah for normal weeks! I enjoy the excitement of celebrations and traveling and having people over – but there’s something terrific about settling down to just breathe after it’s all done.

  3. I adore normal weeks – there seem to be so few of them!

    Happy birthday to your hubby. May there be many many more.

    Our grandies are pulling up a lot, too. Maybe yours and mine will walk at about the same time. Then, it’s “Katy, bar the door!”

  4. What a good week! Your grandson is ADORABLE — what a seriously gorgeous kid 😉 I’m glad your dental woes are behind you. I have had a crown and a couple of root canals and I know what you mean: you do just have to go through it (both the procedures and the paying for it!). I am loving the moderating weather as well!!

  5. So nice you were able to celebrate Jim’s bday with family around! Had to smile at your comment of Timothy in a lot of the photos. Funny we both had the same thoughts of dental stuff getting done as a fave for this week.

  6. It’s funny your listed the fridge cleaning as a fave because that chore faces me next week when I have a day off from the school and i can tell you it most likely will NOT make my fave list! haha…..it sounds like you had a good week full of special blessings…happy birthday to your handsome hubby!

  7. Hurray for normal weeks. I hope you are resting nicely, Barb and do get to your crafting and cleaning this week.
    How fun to have various photos of Timothy. Our grand children certainly do bring a special kind of joy to any visit or celebration.
    I NEED to get at my fridge, but for now I wil just bask in your glow of a job well done.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

