Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

We actually had a day in the 60s that felt so wonderful – and then the next day had sleet and ice, but only for 1/2 an hour, so not too bad. I’m still more than ready for spring to arrive! Just a couple more weeks now! Meanwhile, here are some favorite parts of the last week:

1. Girl Scout Cookies, and more importantly, my husband bringing me some unasked when some girls were selling them in front of a store. He ordered some more later through someone at work. My favorites are Tagalongs and Do-Si-Dos.

2. An impromptu movie night watching The Hundred-Foot Journey recommended by Susanne. I liked all the same things she mentioned.

3. Gluten-free snacks. My daughter-in-law has been trying to eat gluten-free to see if that helps with some stomach issues she has been having. If you’ve ever tried eating without gluten, the hardest food items are breads, cakes, and that kind of thing. All that we have tried so far have been very dense and heavy. I found a few things on Amazon to try and got some for her birthday (but they arrived late due to weather). Of the ones we opened and tried that night, My Dad’s Cookies were really good and Glutino GF Chocolate Chip Cookies were tasty as well. The first ones were light and both were soft rather than crunchy.

4. The Aaron Coffey team has been at our church this week. Unfortunately I have only been able to go to one service, but I really enjoyed it.

5. Easy meals. We had enough leftovers from one meal for a complete second meal as well as lunch, enough pork chops leftover from another meal to make a stir-fry the next night, and some frozen chicken fajita meat my husband had found on sale and put in the freezer to heat up for chicken tacos one night. It helps to have a few easy meals in the rotation.

Bonus: Today is my dear husband’s birthday! We’ll actually be celebrating tomorrow when everyone’s schedules coordinate, but I am very thankful for him and his years with us. πŸ™‚

Hope you have a good weekend. I am hoping we’ve seen the last of snow and ice til next year!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Ah, yes, the joys of testing out GF foods… You might be surprised by what’s available at your local Walmart. Mine has a section devoted to GF products — very helpful. And I hear Target is working on having more GF foods, too. I’ve also found that GF baked goods are best coming from your oven; they just don’t keep well as purchased packaged goods.

    Happy happy birthday to your husband! I’m sure you’ll all bless him wonderfully this weekend.

    Easy meals are wonderful blessings πŸ™‚ Especially during busy weeks. Glad you got a few of them in this week.

  2. I don’t eat many sweets unless homemade but I have tried the gluten free flaxseed crackers on the market to go with my hummus and they. are delicious! I don’t NEED to be gluten free but I do buy many gluten free foods. I love easy meals! yours sound perfect!!

  3. What a sweet hubby to get you Girl Scout cookies. My favourite is thin mint. I try not to buy them because I have bad portion control πŸ˜‰

    I haven’t seen The Hundred-Foot Journey yet, but I do hope to soon. I am glad you mentioned it, so that I can put it back onto my radar.

    Hurray for easy meals. I hope more of that happens this coming week.

  4. I hope the gluten free eating will help ! I always have enough food in the freezer to go on at least for a week ! Have a nice birthday celebration with your husband !

  5. I love when leftovers can be transformed into something a bit different! It sure makes it easier through the week. Glad you guys enjoyed that movie. I may just have to watch it again. πŸ™‚ Hope your DIL finds what works to help her with her stomach issues. I can’t imagine having to go GF, but I guess when it helps then that makes it easier. The only girl scout cookies we get around here are the vanilla and the oreo type ones. Sometimes at Christmas they get the mint ones. Happy belated birthday to your hubby!

  6. Happy belated birthday to your hubby! I have The Hundred Foot Journey waiting for me on Netflix to watch tonight. I’ve heard so many good things about it.

    I think the whole country is holding its breath for Spring. It’s been a long winter for all of us.

  7. I haven’t seen any Girl Scout cookies yet this year. Haven’t been hit up for any orders or seen any displays outside stores. Maybe that’s for the best…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

