What’s On Your Nightstand: February 2015

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

It’s been a colder than usual February here, and you’d think that would have lent itself to cozy days curled up on the couch with a throw blanket and a book. There were a few moments like that, though not as many as I would have liked. Here’s what my reading situation is currently:

Since last time I have completed:

Emily Climbs by L. M. Montgomery for Carrie‘s L. M. M. Reading Challenge this month and her Reading to Know Classics Book Club, reviewed here. Not my favorite.

By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder, 5th in her Little House series for my Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge this month, reviewed here.

Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa TerKeurst, reviewed here. Excellent!

A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher, reviewed here. Very good.

I Deserve a Donut (And Other Lies That Make You Eat) by Barb Raveling. Excellent, but I am waiting to review it together with the other Raveling book I am currently reading.

I’m currently reading:

The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder, also for the LIW Reading Challenge.

Taste For Truth: A 30 Day Weight Loss Bible Study by Barb Raveling, recommended by my friend Kim.

The Pound a Day Diet by Rocco DiSpirito. Almost done.

A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily Freeman

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, audiobook. I’m about 1/3 of the way through. Progress!

Next up:

Pioneer Girl by Laura Ingalls Wilder has not come in yet and I have gotten a notice that it will be delayed even more, but I’m looking forward to it when it finally does arrive.

 Out of a Far Country: A Gay Son’s Journey to God. A Broken Mother’s Search for Hope by Christopher & Angela Yuan, recommended by Tim Challies.

To See the Moon Again by Jamie Langston Turner

Better to Be Broken by Rick Huntress

I also wrote about finding time to read, as I often get asked how I do. I invite you to check out that post and let me know if there are ways you find time to read that I hadn’t thought of.

Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: February 2015

  1. Lots of good reading! I need to check out those weightloss books if you’ve found them helpful.. I’ve been too sedentery this school year!

  2. Long Winter is probably my favorite of LIW’s books. It’s just so vivid. With my dislike of winter growing as I age, I should probably re-read it each winter, just to keep me feeling grateful 🙂 War and Peace is such an … icon?? Not sure the word I’m looking for. What do you think so far? I want to read Pioneer Girl, too!

  3. A Million Little Ways looks great. I’m always looking at ways to see my life as creative, and I think my teen artist daughter might see it as a good way to incorporate her artistic bent with her faith. I’m looking into that one! I actually noticed when I clicked through that she’s doing another of Emily Freeman’s books, Graceful, with her high school girl’s Bible story.

    I posted mine for the first time in a long time:
    My Nightstand Post

  4. War & Peace! That’s on my list but I’m worried about the size of that book! Love the LIW books – By the Shores of Silver Lake is my favorite. I can’t say I’d want to read The Long Winter right now, though!

  5. Curious about that “Better to be Broken” title and wondering if it’s in response (somehow or another) to “Unbroken.”

    I’m also very curious about that “I Deserve a Donut” book. Probably because I frequently feel that way. 😛

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

