Laudable Linkage

It has been almost a month since I’ve shared links that I have found interesting for one reason for another, so I hope you’ll forgive a longer list this time, and I hope you find something of interest among them:

Twenty-One Grains of Wheat. A must-read about the 21 people killed by ISIS.

An Extraordinary Skill for Ordinary Christians. Ways any of us can minister to others.

How to Make the Most of Your Bible Study.

Intimacy or Familiarity. Sometimes it is good to read large portions of the Bible to get the overall view, sometimes it is good to hone in on a smaller passage for a longer time. Love the truth that Bible study doesn’t have to be either/or, but that we need both.

23 Things That Love Is.

What My 9-Year-Old Taught Me About Being Willing to Follow God Into Uncomfortable Places.

How to Spot Mean Girls at Church, and How Not To Be One.

When To Overlook a Fault. This is something I’ve struggled with – when to confront and when to overlook.

When Pain Enters, HT to Lisa. Setting aside the Calvinist/non-Calvinist arguments over which so many disagree, there are some good thoughts from one in pain about how God uses it.

Praying For Adult Children.

Spurgeon on Christians Who Rail Against the Times. HT to Challies. Of course we observe the times and interpret them in light of what the Bible has to say, but I do get frustrated with those Christians whose constant theme is harping about how bad the times are. Evidently there were those even in Spurgeon’s day. I love what he had to say: “What have you and I to do with the times, except to serve God in them?” “We must not be “Woe! Woe!” Christians. We must be “Grace! Grace!” Christians.”

Gentle Fiction: What It Is and Why I Write It. I had never heard the term “gentle fiction” before, but it perfectly describes the kinds of books I most like to read.

Forty Portraits in Forty Years, HT to Challies. One photographer took a photo of four sisters once a year over 40 years. Fascinating to see the progression.

Adding Beauty. Love this philosophy of decorating and making home “homey.”

Why Missionaries Hate Airports from my real-life friend and missionary, Lou Ann. I always love glimpses into aspects of missionary life that we might not have thought of or realized.

Dear Moms: It’s OK to Be Unremarkable. Nothing wrong with gleaning neat ideas from Pinterest, posting pictures on Facebook, or making 3-layer cakes, but the point is well-made that we don’t need to “compete” in all these areas.

Are You Too Sensitive?

Six Reasons Your Husband May Not Like Your Women’s Group.

Dear Mom…Worried About Your Daughter’s Reading Material?

Emotional Vertigo.

7 Principles of Sabbath Rest.

God Makes One Baby Boy “Different” To Save Hundreds of Others.

And in the “You think YOU’VE got snow” category, Kathie, one of my FFF friends in Prince Edward Isle, showed 16-foot snow banks in her area and shared this funny clip:

Too much snow for me!

Hope you have a great day!

 

6 thoughts on “Laudable Linkage

  1. Barbara, I always enjoy when you share links. I have to come back and check these out. I’m very interested in the Charles Spurgeon on. Funny clip about snow fall. Probably not funny for those who live there though!

  2. I always enjoy your links, too, Barbara. I don’t get around much to varied places on the web, so I come here to see what treasures you’ve found.

    Thanks for the link about teenage girls and reading. Much food for thought!

  3. I enjoyed your links this week! The quotes from Spurgeon were great. I really dislike all the gloom & doom (especially on Facebook!) about how things are so bad. Yes, they are bad, but God knows & has a plan! I also prefer gentle fiction – I’d never even heard the term Southern gothic – yikes! And how fun to see the clip of Rick Mercer mentioned on your blog. He’s a Canadian legend – a bit irreverent at times, but we enjoy his satire. And I want to thank you for mentioning your friend Lou Ann’s blog. I’ve found a new blogger to follow!

  4. One of your blogging gifts is definitely “curating”. I always enjoy these posts. I’ve opened up a lot of tabs from these links so now I’m off to do some Sunday afternoon reading of things you shared!

  5. I love when you share linkage! I found the mean girls and woman’s bible study articles convicting and good food for thought. I also enjoyed the ordinary christian article. I’m beginning to get back into the blogging world…and I’ve missed you!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

