Friday’s Fave Fives

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been a cold one here, with ice and snow and subzero temperatures – and another round of snow and ice is expected for tonight. I am very thankful we’ve all been safe and haven’t lost power. I was thinking this morning as I looked on my weather app that it’s funny to think of 27 degrees as “warming up.” We’re supposed to get into the 40s tomorrow – that will feel downright balmy after this week.

Here are some favorites moments of this week:

1. Fresh eggs. Some years ago was the first time I ever had eggs fresh from a farm, and man, what a difference. We’ve talked off and on about trying to find a source for them here but never really pursued it. Then I saw a friend from church on Facebook talking about where she got hers, contacted her and she was willing to pick some up for me when she gets hers.

2. Valentine’s Day is a favorite every year. We had our usual heart-shaped meat loaves and cupcakes and played some games afterward.

3. A wonderful sermon on grace, a subject we probably can’t hear too much about, from a visiting speaker at church. In one sense, if we’ve walked with the Lord for a long time we might feel like we know all about it, but we need fresh reminders, and this particular message really spoke to my heart and brought up one aspect I hadn’t really considered before.

4. Figuring out how to access photos on my WordPress app. I used to have to send pictures on my phone by email to my computer, download them there, then upload them into my blog. It was very simple to learn how to add them directly into a post with the WordPress app on my phone – I just hadn’t taken the time to look at it until this week. Should have long ago!

5. Baby’s first snow pictures. Love, love, love these!

Timothy is not really standing on his own yet except for a few seconds at a time. Jason said this heavy snowsuit and layers of clothes underneath making it hard to bend his legs helped a lot. 🙂

IMG_0001

IMG_0007

IMG_0002

BONUS: It is my sweet daughter-in-law’s birthday today! Happy birthday, Mittu!

We’re hoping to celebrate tomorrow, after we see what the weather does overnight.

Happy Friday!

 

18 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Fives

  1. I remember dressing my babies in snow suits. It took forever to get them into it but they sure had fun. He is certainly a cutie! Happy Birthday to your daughter in law. So great you can your eggs from a farm. I don’t know of one near me. I sure wish I did. Have a great weekend.

  2. Ohhhh, I will have to check out that wordpress app. As you described, it is a bit of a process getting photos from my phone to be into my posts.

    The first of anything with the grandchildren is extra memorable. I smiled seeing these photos of your lovely family.

    So gld you are slated for “warmer” weather this week. 😉

  3. oh how cute your grandson is!! and a happy birthday to your pretty daughter in law…..wow…compared to here in eastern NY y’all have NOTHING on the ground. My oldest just messaged us live chat showing the snow to be up to her 2nd floor campus apt window!! yup…north shore Boston has over 90 inches of the white stuff on the ground. Please pray it starts warming up for us….we need the temps to climb slowly so flooding doesn’t occur. Enjoy your weekend

  4. Love the snow pics of your little family! Hope the weather cooperates and you all can celebrate Mittu’s birthday soon.I’m not

    I’m not sure but I don’t think I’ve ever had fresh eggs from the farm …

  5. Happy birthday to Mittu! Of course Valentines Day is extra special for you, a heart lover. I’m going to have to look into the WordPress app for my phone!

  6. Happy Birthday to Mittu! The baby is beautiful. Is there anything cuter than a baby in a snowsuit? So fun to hug:)

    Our weather is going the opposite of yours. It’s been balmy in the 60s this week, and tonight we’re due for a big storm. I have to remind myself that snow is, in fact, the norm for February.

    Our town recently voted to allow chickens in backyards. I would love to get some fresh eggs if any of our neighbors choose to have some.

  7. I agree, real fresh eggs coming directly from a farmer have a completely different taste ! Little Timothy is also becoming a big boy ! Soon he will start to walk !

  8. Just adorable snow pics! I love how attentive Timothy is. He hasn’t figured out how to mug for the camera yet — but he will soon 🙂

    Aren’t fresh eggs wonderful? I love their fresh yolky flavor. Glad you have means to get some.

  9. we love our farm fresh eggs. I very seldom buy eggs. Love these pictures of Timothy! He’s so sweet! Sounds like you had a great Valentines with a few traditions. We don’t really have any traditions for Valentine’s.
    Grace, it’s a wonderful message!

  10. Happy Birthday to Mittu! What sweet pics of Timothy in the snowsuit. They look so bundled up in them, don’t they? Love farm fresh eggs. Glad you didn’t have the power go out on you!

  11. Love the pics of your son and family. How precious!
    We’ve been buying fresh eggs from a friend for about 6 months now.
    There is a huge difference. Our town council which I’m a part of is coming close to allowing chickens and rabbits in town. I think I’ve managed to convince them that the pros far outweigh the cons (with help from other town citizens) so I’ll probably go out being known as the Chicken trustee! Oh well, like I said, I want chickens!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

