Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Another week flown by already! Once again we did not get snow that was forecast (yay!). But I had a 2 hour long dentist appointment to do the first part of getting a bridge put in (boo! I was so wrung out when it was over!). Most weeks are like that – a mixture of highs and lows. Here are some favorite parts of this week:

1. Timothy being excited to see us. He has smiled for months, but for the last couple of weeks, when he sees us, he smiles and gurgles and bounces and kicks and waves his arms. So sweet and fun!

2. Eating in and out. Friday night Jim brought Red Lobster home, and Saturday Jason and Mittu invited us out to a breakfast/brunch restaurant they found called The Egg & I. It was a fun excursion and good food.

3. The end of road construction. They’ve been working on adding a stretch of road and an overpass and repaving part of the old road for what seems like ages, and it was finally completed this week. So nice to have all lanes open and the orange and white barrels taken up! I think I was one of the first people to drive on the new part: it was still closed when I passed by running errands, but open on my way back, so I gave it a test drive. πŸ™‚

4. Time alone. When my kids were in high school, I had seven hours a week day to myself, and thought that pattern would continue on as they got older and left home. That hasn’t been the case, especially with Great-grandma and her helper here and Jesse working evenings. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean to complain and I love my family, but like any introvert, I operate best with some alone time to “hear myself think,” as my mom used to say. I’ve learned not to go around and lament about it or insist on it, but just to trust that God will provide it when He knows I need it, and this week He did. It was delicious. πŸ™‚

5. Reaching out. At the risk of sounding antisocial with my last two here…I had noticed that I could spend a whole morning at church without really saying much to anyone but a surface, “Hi, how are you, fine, thanks.” And church is for more fellowship than that. So I’ve been trying to remember to pray on Saturday nights or Sunday mornings that God would help me not to be so closed in but to be open and friendly and to interact more with people, and He has. I share that partly as an encourage to others who feel the same way: we may not be comfortable as “greeters” shaking hands with everyone who comes in the door, but God can lead us to interact with others in quieter, one on one ways.

Happy Friday!

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Wonderful favorites this week Barbara. What a great attitude and way to pray about your need to be alone and the privilege to reach out to others, too. That’s so sweet about Timothy and his smiles! Love it…

  2. I love how often eating out (or in) is a highlight for you. While I enjoy eating out, I often feel guilty for not cooking. Seeing your posts encourages me to take a different tack – to be thankful both for the enjoyment I have in eating out, for not having to cook, and for having the funds to be able to go out to eat every so often.

    Also, I always love hearing about Timothy – how exciting that he recognizes you and anticipates closeness with you!

  3. Oh…Timothy is at a wonderful age…I remember those first times of being recognized by each of our three grandchildren. It’s their own form of I love you. πŸ™‚

    I understand totally about having time to think! πŸ™‚ And even more blessed by your talking with the Lord about reaching out to folks on Sunday. πŸ™‚

    Hope your weekend is a good one.

  4. Barbara,
    First off, a two hour dentist visit is my ultimate nightmare. I really don’t like the dentist office and I only go if I have to. Glad it’s over for you though. You know what’s funny and different about living here in Europe. Road construction is done in a few days. I remember when we lived in Dallas they were working on the same stretch of road for 8+ years. Here, they start a project and in two weeks it’s done. Maybe it’s because our town is so small but I love it. So end of construction in the States is a big deal.
    BTW, I love your last one. I need to remember that people need more than a hello when we’re at church. I do my best but sometimes you just want to sit quietly and observe. Great thoughts!!
    Have a great weekend!!

  5. I am a bit of an introvert too. With my mother living with me, I’m usually never alone so at least once a month I try to take a day away – just me. Have a great weekend.

  6. I definitely need my alone time to recharge. I like that you trust it will be provided for you. I need to remember that instead of stressing over how to find it! Applies to so many things.

    Loved #2. Those are two of my favorite restaurants, and I didn’t know you can get take out at Red Lobster. It’s been years since I’ve been there. Yum.

  7. I so get the introvert thing. How wonderful to pray beforehand about your Sunday morning encounters. I have to do the same thing–somebody needs to hear the encouragement we can give. And trust God to give us what we need to hear at the same time.

  8. I love your last point because it shows your willing heart to follow God’s leading. I’m more of an extrovert but that doesn’t mean I don’t need my alone times too. I tend to make myself way to busy and need that time to be still and refocus.

  9. I actually thought of you last week… I am not a fiction person, but did come across a sweet book called “The Magic of Ordinary Days”. I thought you might enjoy it, and would love to read your take on the book.

  10. Well! I’m muchas late, but better then never. What a joy it must be to elicit smiles from that adorable baby πŸ˜‰ And I definitely empathize with the need for time-for-thinking. Glad you’re getting some!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

