Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Can you believe we’re almost through January and almost 1/12 of the way through 2015 already?

I am running late today – had some things to take care of this morning. Here are some of the favorite parts of this week:

1. Not getting predicted bad weather. We did get a little snow one day, but not enough to affect the roads much at all. On the other hand, my oldest son in RI got about 2 feet of snow! But they’re much more equipped to deal with it, and he was able to go back to work the day after. I’m thankful for his safety and the fact that he didn’t lose power – and the fact that we didn’t get that much. πŸ™‚

2. This chocolate pie:

IMG_1026

I had been craving chocolate pie for a week or so. Jason and Mittu were coming over for dinner one night and asked if there was anything they could pick up for us on the way over. πŸ™‚ So I took them up on their offer and asked them to get one of these. This is probably my favorite chocolate pie. I don’t get it often, lest I end up twice the size I am, but I love it for an occasional treat.

3. A balanced week or two. The past couple of weeks have had a good balance between getting things done but having some time to relax as well. Sometimes when I have something I have to do in a given week, I can feel more pressured than I should by it and have to constantly try to keep the proper perspective (there are always things that need to be done or that I could be doing, but deadlines or events or appointments can be stressful). God helping me, I was able to get the required things done this week with a minimum of stress.

4. Baked chicken chimichangas. I think I’ve mentioned them a time or three before. πŸ™‚ Our Mexican food restaurant closed, and we haven’t scouted out any new ones yet. I was looking at the online menus of a couple of them nearby, and then of course I was craving it. Thankfully I had all the ingredients on hand – even the white queso sauce I love to top it with!

5. Hearts and Valentine’s ideas. I love hearts, and Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays, so I am enjoying some of the Valentine’s ideas that are popping up on blogs and Pinterest. I just spent an enjoyable time looking through one blog’s Pinterest boards for Valentine’s Day. I’ll never be able to do all those ideas in a lifetime – but I love to look at them and be inspired. And I did get an idea or two I might use this year.

Happy Friday – what’s left of it! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. So glad for a couple of normal weeks. They make such a difference in how we function.

    You have mentioned your fave recipe several times so I decided to print it and try a gluten free variety. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. Hi Barbara, Glad you didn’t get all the snow that was predicted. Glad you’ve had some balanced weeks. It really makes a difference. Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. Barbara, how nice of your son and daughter-in-law to ask if there was anything they could bring when they came for a visit this week! πŸ˜‰ Now I am craving chocolate pie! πŸ™‚

    I am really glad that you have had a couple of weeks where you haven’t had a lot of appointments, etc. that cause the stress. We all need less stress, that’s for sure.

    Have a great weekend, my friend.
    xo Dianna

  4. We don’t have any authentic Mexican restaurant around where I live and I miss that. We have Taco Bell but I don’t count that. πŸ™‚ That pie looks so good. I’ve seen it in the stores. Now I want to get some! Enjoy!

  5. Hurray for balanced weeks. I’m hoping for one sometime this year πŸ™‚
    Enjoy all those special times with your son, dil and Timothy–especially with chocolate pie.
    Have a great week!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

