What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2015

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

I don’t know where this month has gone! But it’s almost over, and it’s time again for another Nightstand post.

Since last time I have completed:

Where Treetops Glisten: Three Stories of Heartwarming Courage and Christmas Romance During World War II by Cara Putnam, Sarah Sundin, and Tricia Goyer, reviewed here.

Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room:Daily Family Devotions for Advent by Nancy Guthrie, reviewed here.

Come Thou Long Expected Jesus:Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas, compiled by Nancy Guthrie, reviewed here.

Traveling Toward Sunrise by Mrs. Charles Cowman of Streams in the Desert fame, not reviewed.

Daily Light on the Daily Path, not reviewed but referred to often: I have been using it to start my devotional time for years.

Lizzy and Jane by Katherine Reay, reviewed here.

The Masqueraders by Georgette Heyer, reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

The Pound a Day Diet by Rocco DiSpirito. I can’t even say I am actually currently reading it, but I started it some months back and laid it aside. I need to wrap this one up.

Emily Climbs by L. M. Montgomery for Carrie‘s L. M. M. Reading Challenge this month and her Reading to Know Classics Book Club.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. This is a 60+ hour audiobook, and I am about 4 hours in, so I’ll be at it a while. I thought about going through some shorter classics from my Back to the Classics Challenge list first, so I’d feel like I had gotten more accomplished, but decided to go ahead and plunge in with this one. It’s finally starting to get interesting.

A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher

Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa TerKeurst

A Million Little Ways: Uncover the Art You Were Made to Live by Emily Freeman. Had just barely started this when I remembered the LMM challenge, but I will get back to it.

Next up:

By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder, 5th in her Little House series for my Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge in February. More info. on that below.

Pioneer Girl by Laura Ingalls Wilder

 Out of a Far Country: A Gay Son’s Journey to God. A Broken Mother’s Search for Hope by Christopher & Angela Yuan, 2011, recommended by Tim Challies.

To See the Moon Again by Jamie Langston Turner is not on any of my reading lists, so it may get pushed back again, but it is one I got for Christmas and would like to read sooner rather than later.

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading ChallengeIn February I host the Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge. More information is here, and I’ll have a sign-up post on Feb. 1 where you can let us know what you’ll try to read. I invite you to join us!
11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: January 2015

  1. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Pioneer Girl – it’s such a fascinating idea to be reading Laura’s autobiography after all these years of semi-autobiographical stuff.

  2. I’m anxious to hear thoughts about Pioneer Girl as well! And you are tackling some huge books lately, between Les Mis and now War and Peace. Happy reading!

  3. I read a lot of the Little House books but never in order and don’t even know if I’ve read them all. I should try reading from beginning to end. It’s fun to see what others are reading.

  4. I’m going to kick off your Laura Ingalls Wilder month with one called “Laura Ingalls Wilder Country – the people and places behind Laura Ingalls Wilderès LIfe and Books”. Chock full of pictures, it looked really interesting and then we’ll go from there. I’m very interested on your thoughts on “Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl”. I might consider it for my women’s study group.

  5. What a grea list of books you have going! I am stretched in so many directions right now I am just happy to have two in the works. Hope you have a great February of reading!

  6. Whoa—War and Peace! I haven’t gotten that brave yet. You go first. 🙂 I did decide to start Middlemarch today though. I think it’ll be tough-going for me but I’ll likely resort to Sparknotes again to make sure I’m understanding it. I’ve seen A Million Little Ways get good reviews from blogger friends but haven’t read it yet myself. I’ll look forward to what you think of it.

  7. I describe Pioneer Girl as THE Laura Ingalls Wilder Encyclopedia. 🙂 I haven’t read it all, but I did review it since I like reading it in little bits and pieces.

    War and Peace might be a good audio book for a cross-country car trip! 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

