Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been a pretty good week. Here are some favorite parts of it:

1. A walk with Timothy. Jim and I baby-sat our little grandson, Timothy, last Saturday, and it was such a nice day out, his parents left his stroller here in case we wanted to take him for a walk. So we did! Some of the neighbors were out enjoying the day as well and came over to ooh and aah over him, always a joy to a grandmother’s heart. πŸ™‚ He’s at such a fun age, it seems every week he is learning a new skill or growing in one he already had. He just had his 9 month check-up last week, and is in the 90th percentile for a 9 month old and exactly where he needs to be in his development – a special blessing since he started out 10 1/2 weeks early and 3 lbs. 6 oz.!

2. More daylight. One of the things I love about Dec. 21, besides its being our anniversary, is that after that day we turn a corner and start having longer days, or rather more daylight in the day. It’s not noticeable at first, but it is now!

3. Spending gift cards. I had a fun shopping excursion spending some Christmas gift cards this week.

4. A new TV. Ours suddenly died with no forewarning or previous problems last weekend. Jim found one on a good sale online but decided to try in town first. He did find it and the store was willing to match the online price, so we didn’t have to wait several days for delivery. It’s bigger than our old one, and we’ve been really enjoying it.

5. “Notify me” feature. I mentioned a few weeks ago liking the Find Friends app on my phone, which enables me to see where my family is, or at least where their phones are. I didn’t even see, until Jesse mentioned it, that it has a “Notify me” feature where you can ask it to signal you when a person leaves their destination. It is especially handy for me because Jim doesn’t have the type of job where he can clock out at 5 on the dot. His arrival time at home can vary by 1 1/2 to 2 hours. So I usually wait to get some idea of when he’ll be home in order so I know when to start dinner. Now, instead of bugging him with texts or continually checking the Find Friends app, my phone dings when he leaves. Very helpful!

Hope you’ve had a great week as well. They’re forecasting snow here for tomorrow. I hope they’re wrong, but I’d rather have it on a Saturday than a week day. Since I don’t have a choice in the matter, I guess I’ll just adjust to whatever comes. πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Sounds like a good week, and I love your emphasis on the positive πŸ™‚ We, too, had a TV die a few years back and it ended up being a good thing. I *love* the new one! Your little grandson sounds sweet. Many years of fun coming up with him! I, too, love to think that we are on the upswing after Dec. 21. I usually first start noticing a bit more light in February. It’s just around the corner!

    • I’ve started noticing more daylight already because I no longer have to turn on the front porch light when Great-grandma’s caregiver comes in the morning or when my husband comes home in the evening. I was startled last week to realize it was actually light earlier in the morning and later in the evening now. Love it!

  2. I’m with on the more daylight, my friend! I noticed last evening it was 5:40 and it was still daylight! I loved reading about your opportunity to keep Timothy. What a blessing to know how he has grown and that he is right where he should be, even though he was early. Wise decision to just accept the weather. ~wink~ Have a great weekend, Barbara!

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful week.
    Grandsons are such a blessing and I miss mine so much. Talking on Skype helps and he is such a funny little boy..he melts my heart
    Have a fabulous weekend Barbara
    Phoebe x

  4. It’s so precious and encouraging to hear about Timothy. For some reason I glossed over his birthweight at other times – he was 1 oz more than Tirzah Mae, even though he was born 2 1/2 weeks earlier! I doubt she’ll be in the 90th percentile for weight when she gets to 9 months – she’s hanging out in the 3rd percentile now (which is just fine).

    The increasing amount of sunshine is brightening my days too (literally!)

  5. Wow, that Find Friends app would have been so helpful back when my husband was out fixing tractors in the fields!

    I love it when daylight lasts longer, too. It’s depressing to drive home in the dark after work. It feels Iike I should just go on to bed.

    Nothing makes a grandmother’s heart happier than someone oohing and aahing over her grandchild! πŸ˜‰ So glad you got an opportunity to take Timothy for a walk.

  6. how fun to take your grandbaby boy for a walk outside! I LOVE the photo at the top of your page here on your blog…soooo pretty..I want to take a walk there!! Is that near your home somewhere?? Happy belated anniversary! that is the date that my youngest daughter (now 16) was born on!! And yup….the longer days are noticeable finally here in NY and we are loving it and counting the days until the first day of spring!! Happy weekend Barbara!

  7. Now there’s an app that seems to do just what you need! I’m sure that makes planning a little easier.

    And I certainly agree with you. Just a few minutes more daylight feels so good, especially as we are on the lengthening swing πŸ™‚

  8. Great news about the new TV. Businesses are doing that more and more – matching others’ sales. What fun to take your grand baby out for a walk!

  9. We’ve definitely noticed the longer days starting here. It is nice. Fun that you could get out there with Timothy and enjoy some outside time! I really bucked getting a bigger tv at first but now that I’ve had it I wouldn’t go back. I like it so much better. Enjoy yours! That sounds like an interesting app and suited just for you guys.

  10. How fun to be able to spend time with your grandbaby. My precious one is almost 2 and a JOY. And how awesome that has more than caught up development-wise. A true blessing.

    How fun to be able to use the “notify me” app that way. The more I get to know my iphone, the more I wonder how I go along without it. πŸ˜‰

    Have a great week, Barbara.

  11. i am so very late getting around to read FFFs. I wonder now if you had the snow or you were spared the worst of it. I love taking walks with our little ones–so much fun. At this age, we make the memories; later they will remember too. Also, I was thrilled to read how well Timothy is doing!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

