Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Usually the first week after the holidays, after everyone has gone back to work, is my quiet time to rest and reflect, but this week has been crazy. My mother-in-law’s caregiver’s son was sick one day, so she was out, then Jesse was sick most of the week. I almost thought we might have to take him to the hospital for IV fluids, as he was getting dehydrated from not being able to keep anything down. Then his appetite was next to nothing for a couple of days. Plus my recuperation from having a tooth pulled was taking longer than expected. But there have been some bright spots throughout; here are a few:

1. Wellness. We’re getting better every day, and praying that whatever Jesse had doesn’t spread, especially to Great-grandma.

2. Evening hours at the Doctor’s office. One evening after dinner when Jesse was showing symptoms of a secondary infection, we called the doctor’s office and they were able to get him in right away. I’m so glad they’re open some evenings.

3. A quiet day. Sunday I wasn’t feeling well, so I ended up staying home from church. I spent the morning lying on the couch, listening to a couple of sermons online and dozing off and on. Maybe the Lord knew I needed that pocket of quietness and solitude between the lovely but busy holidays and the week that was to come.

4. Sunshine. It seemed like the sky had been overcast for days. It was nice to see the sun this week.

5. A meal brought home. Yesterday was just one of those days. It wasn’t bad, it was just frustrating in the sense that I felt like a ball in a pinball machine being whacked from thing to thing that needed attention and not able to complete anything. I finally got a couple of things done in the afternoon, and then called and asked my husband, “Would you reward my lack of inspiration to make dinner by bringing something home?” πŸ™‚ Good man that he is, he agreed. It was nice to have the time I would normally have been making dinner to gather my wits.

There was also some good news on a couple of fronts, but they’re not public yet, so I’ll wait til next week to share them. πŸ™‚ And maybe next week will be back to “normal” – whatever that is. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hello Barbara, I always enjoy reading your favorite fives for the week. I’m really sorry to hear how Jesse was…and that your dental work had you laid up for a bit. I am glad to know that everyone is starting to do better now. Isn’t it wonderful to have a good husband who understands our needs…not a question, really. I hope you have a good weekend.

  2. So sorry that there has been bouts of ill health. Hope you are all well on the road to mending and feeling better. Around here our evening doctor’s hours are first come first served for the one doctor that is on and you have to sit there and not leave. If you leave your name is scrapped off the list. Not much fun when one is not well and there is a long wait. A quiet day is like gold. Glad you were able to partake in one.

  3. Oh I do hope and pray that you all feel well real soon! Today in the classroom we had SIX students ill…yesterday I sent one home due to a very high fever. It’s hard to see these little ones so sick. Thankfully my own daughters husband and I have been fine…..there’s so much illness this month! Glad you had a quiet day to rest and listen to sermons. Around here NO doctor has evening hours but we do have “urgent care” options although I don’t tend to like those….some of the “doctors” on call are not that great. Here’s to praying for good health for everyone in the FFF community and our families!

  4. Sorry you’ve all been under the weather. It happens a lot this time of year. Once I make up my mind to finally go to the doctor, I’m always thankful to find a place like convenient care where you can go in the evenings. I always think staying home and resting is the best thing you can do when under the weather, but maybe that is because I love staying home so much …

    Glad you had some sunshine. I always feel better on sunny days!

  5. Oh, that sounds like misery for Jesse. Hope he’s recovering, poor kid! I smiled at your reasoning with your husband for dinner brought in πŸ˜‰ Comforts are so extra comforting when we’re frazzled, aren’t they?

    And a cliff hanger! We will await the news!

  6. I believe you’ve left us hanging! πŸ˜‰ I enjoy days of solitude. We need them from time to time like you said, to gather out wits. Have a great weekend!

  7. I’m excited about your good news — whatever it may be! I hope you all get back to good health soon. There’s something about January, at least for me, that just seems to go along with feeling sub-par. Oh, and re. your comment at my place about notecards — I can relate totally. I, too, am still drawn to lovely notecards, although I can’t justify buying any more.

  8. I love it when my hubby says, “I think I need a burrito” because that means I won’t be cooking that night–it happened this week πŸ™‚
    I hope your mil doesn’t catch whatever Jesse has had. Dr offices with evening hours are amazing–sometimes people who work just need evening appts.

    Here’s hoping your week to come will be healthier and quieter.

  9. Now I’m on pins and needles as to what news you might share this week. πŸ˜€

    We have just recovered from a stomach bug in our household. But we are now on the mend and eating again! (I did manage to have a lot of quiet time and plenty of time to read as a result though!)

  10. I hope you are all on the mend! Everyone I know seems to have been sick over the holidays- rough time for illnesses it seems.

    Glad you were able to get some rest on Sunday and that you sweet Hubby blessed you with bringing a meal home. Such a special treat. πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

