Friday’s Fave Five

fff winter button

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I didn’t think I was going to do a FFF today – it has been a busy week, and I wasn’t feeling well this afternoon. But everything has come to a stopping place, and I have half an hour before time to start dinner – so here I am. 🙂

1. Time with family. My oldest son was here until last Sunday, and my middle son and d-i-l and little grandson were here often (and of course my youngest son lives here), plus my husband has been off for two weeks. We had lots of great times together as a family.

2. Ibuprofen. I had to have a tooth pulled Wednesday – no fun at all. The doctor said the damage was worse than thought (one root was almost completely gone. He was amazed I hadn’t had any pain, but that tooth had had a root canal some years before. The only way I knew something was wrong was when is showed up on an x-ray at a routine dental cleaning). He said the surgery went “as good as it could go,” so I am thankful for that. It’s been sore ever since then, but ibuprofen is keeping it manageable.

3. Soup has been my mainstay this week. Pudding and cream of wheat helped, too, but soup was the best, especially potato soup.

4. A meal brought over. One day my son and daughter-in-law brought soup and sandwiches over and we watched How to Train Your Dragon 2. Cute movie!

5. Ecclesiastes is not usually one of my favorite books to read in the Bible. It’s written kind of from a different angle than the other books. But for my birthday last year I got a John MacArthur study Bible, and his introductory remarks sounded very reminiscent of some things C. S. Lewis said, particularly his famous quote, “If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.” Since I had just finished his The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses a month or so ago, much of that was really fresh to me. I hadn’t read Ecclesiastes in that light before – there is much, Solomon said, to enjoy in this life, but ultimately nothing satisfies long-term because it isn’t meant to. Reading in that light has caused me to “get” what it is saying that much more, and I am really enjoying this reading, or rereading.

Happy Friday – what’s left of it!

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Hope you are feeling better after your dental work. So glad you have had a good holiday and lots of time with family. I have been on blogging break but hope to be joining in next week for Friday Fave Five. Happy 2015 to you!

  2. Eeeah…sorry on the tooth pull. :X I had some dental work a few weeks ago and I’m STILL a little sensitive. (I’m not entirely sure that I’m supposed to be.) I hate going to the dentist. (Good news! A liquid diet was helpful! :D)

    Glad you get to have so much time with your grandson. What a tremendous blessing!

  3. Ohh, I hate the dentist, well not him personally but his choice of professions! What kinda guys wants to put people through so much pain anyhow? Anyhow, hope you mend soon. Thank the Lord for meds!

  4. Happy New Year to you! I have to agree that Ibuprofen is my friend–enjoyed its company last night for achy joints. I hope your mouth is healing well.
    The best part of Christmas celebration is being with family!

  5. Bummer on the tooth being pulled. Hope you recover quickly. The dentist is where I’m going to have to head soon I’m afraid. I’m not looking forward to it–who does?–because of a really bad experience with a root canal.
    Glad you are able to see your boys often.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

