Happy New Year!

I had to have a tooth pulled yesterday, so there were no big New Year’s Eve parties for us. 🙂 Actually, we usually have a quiet evening at home on that night anyway. I don’t like to be out when there are going to be even more drunk drivers than usual, and our church wasn’t having its usual Wednesday night services. I thought about rescheduling my oral surgery for another time, but figured this would actually work out for the best since Jim would be home anyway. I wasn’t sedated – just had local numbing. Of course I’ve been dealing with varying degrees of pain since the numbness wore off, but it is not as bad as it was yesterday afternoon.

I don’t usually do New Year’s Resolutions, but I do usually like to reflect a bit on the coming year and things I need to work on. So far I haven’t really had time to: maybe next week. But in last night’s Daily Light reading, I came across these verses, which will give me plenty to think about in the next year:

Giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; and to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; and to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. I Peter 1:5-7

I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment. That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ. Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God. Philippians 1:9-11

And for my friends here, I saw this last year and was moved by it:

A New Year’s Prayer

May God make your year a happy one!
Not by shielding you from all sorrows and pain,
But by strengthening you to bear it, as it comes;
Not by making your path easy,
But by making you sturdy to travel any path;
Not by taking hardships from you,
But by taking fear from your heart;
Not by granting you unbroken sunshine,
But by keeping your face bright, even in the shadows;
Not by making your life always pleasant,
But by showing you when people and their causes need you most,
and by making you eager to be there to help.
God’s love, peace, hope and joy to you for the year ahead.

Anonymous

crown-the-year-new-year-550x320

(Graphic from crosscards.com)

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. What a lovely poem. Thank you for sharing it! I’m currently in a period of soul-searching and decision-making, so the poem speaks to me.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

