Top Books Read in 2014

From the books I have read in a year I like to list my top ten or so. These weren’t published this year: these were just my favorites that I read in this particular year. So without further ado, here they are, linked back to my reviews of them:

1. How I Know God Answers Prayer by Rosalind Goforth. I have read this multiple times and am always blessed and inspired by it.

2. Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis. This was my second time through this book, and it is one I should probably reread every few years.

3. Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi. This account of Nabeel’s attempts first to argue and disprove Christianity and then to grapple with the implications of coming to believe it was true was both riveting and informative.

4. The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses by C. S. Lewis. As I said in my review of it, I don’t think any other author makes me long for heaven more.

5. Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck. Whether you have any knowledge or care about what the emergent or emerging church is, this is a vital book for our times, dealing with postmodern thought applied to Christianity and the good and bad aspects of it.

6. Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin. One of my passions is to get women into the Word of God. Jesus said, “The words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life” (John 6:63). No other book, no other words have the power to change us or to make us think and live in accord with God’s will. Jen shares that passion, and her book was a great blessing to me.

7. Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias, an autobiographical account of Ravi’s journey to believing faith in Jesus Christ and God’s leading and shaping him for the ministry He called him to.

8. Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay. Katherine’s debut epistolary novel about a girl’s letters to an anonymous benefactor, which reveal her own blossoming and is replete with literary allusions, particularly to Jane Austen’s books, won me over right away. I have her next book on my TBR shelf right now!

9. Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good by Jan Karon, her newest Mitford book. It was a joy to read this after thinking that we probably wouldn’t hear about Father Tim again. Her Mitford books are a joy in any case.

10. The Seamstress: A Memoir of Survival by Sara Tuvel Bernstein was about a Romanian young woman’s experiences surviving WWII during the hardships and shortages of war time, then in a prison camp. It was riveting reading. I was saddened that Sara concluded that there must not be a God if such atrocities were allowed to happen and I hope she discovered at some point before her death that He was the one who gave her the spirit and determination she needed as well as sometimes seemingly “coincidental” provisions just at the right times.

If I were going to go beyond ten, I would also name:

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry, a children’s book about a girl in Denmark during WWII and the effects of the war on her family and friends as well as herself.
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald
Undetected by Dee Henderson
Unspoken by Dee Henderson

What were your favorite books of the year? Have you read any of the ones mentioned here?

(This will also be linked to Semicolon‘s Saturday Review of Books, where this week she is welcoming book lists for the year.)

I’m also linking this week to:

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday, a weekly meme which poses a question or a thought for participants to discuss centering on the subject of books or reading. The question for 1/1/15 asks about books that impacted us in 2014.

11 thoughts on “Top Books Read in 2014

  1. I’ve had The Seamstress on my TBR list since I first read your review of it, and I think I ehen picked up a used copy. Now to actually read it!

    All of your top picks look great!

  2. I have read Number the Stars and The Princess and the Goblin. This year I reread the first volume of James Herriot’s books in the British editions. That was fun 🙂
    I am going to use your book list to plan my 2015 list–I think I will revisit CS Lewis.

  3. I love reading your book lists! I read “Mere Christianity” this year as well – I found it to be very deep and thought-provoking. I’m glad I read it! Hope enjoy your New Year celebration and that you have a wonderful 2015!

  4. Pingback: My favorite posts of the year | Stray Thoughts

  5. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: December 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  6. You had some great books on your list this past year. I’d really like to read ‘Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus’, it sounds very interesting. Ravi Zacharias book sounds good too.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Happy New Year! : )

  7. It’s so fun to compare favorite books! Although, mainly I’m alarmed by how few of others’ favorites I’ve read. There are so many good reads out there … I did love Number the Stars (read back when I was teaching), and I too should re-read Mere Christianity. The Emergent book sounds interesting to me.

  8. Pingback: Book Review: Lizzy and Jane | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

