Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been another very busy but overall good week. Here are some of the best parts:

1. The adult Christmas program at church. For the past few years they have put together their own production rather than doing a cantata, and it is one of my favorite services of the year.

2. A new caregiver. We have someone who comes in to take care of my husband’s mother in the mornings so I can run errands or do whatever, and we have had the same weekday lady for a year and a half until last week when she resigned. Bringing a new person in can be kind of tricky, but the new lady has worked out really well.

3. A quick answer to an urgent prayer.

4. Alternatives. Some of you know I have had trouble with SVTs (supraventricular tachycardia) for years. It has picked up lately, not in the big episodes needing the ER but in more everyday shorter bothersome happenings. There is a surgical procedure called an ablation they can do, but I have been dreading it. I went to see a cardiac electrophysiologist yesterday, thinking I was going to have to schedule the surgery, but he brought up the possibility of some medicines I had not heard of previously, so we’re going to try one or two of those and see what happens. I still may have to have the procedure, in in many ways it would be nice to have it taken care of, but I just wasn’t ready to commit to that yet. The prayer mentioned in #3 had to do with an episode that occurred Monday while I was out Christmas shopping that felt like I was going to need to go to the ER, and I was thinking of all the logistics involved with needing someone to pick me up, then having Jim and Jesse have to come back to get my car, and having to make arrangements for Grandma, etc., etc. I was just praying my heart rate would go back to normal on its own, and, thank God, after about 10-15 minutes it did.

5. Joys of the season. The glow of Christmas lights in a darkened room. Christmas carols. Packages arriving. Christmas cards and greetings. Shopping for loved ones. Advent reading. Amidst the busyness of the week, I’ve enjoyed all these aspects of Christmastime. (And see the sneaky way I crammed more than five items in my fave fives? 🙂 )

We’re looking forward to my oldest son coming in tonight and everyone else having some time off this next week. I’ve been trying to get most everything else done except the cooking this week so that next week I can just enjoy being together with everyone, so it should be a bit more relaxing for me, too!

Happy Friday! And for those whom I may not see until next week, I wish you a blessed Christmas with loved ones, remembering most of all the best gift of all, our Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

8 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. i enjoy reading your stray thoughts….thanks for posting them….may you have a very Merry Blessed Christmas and a wonderful New Year……

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. SO thankful to hear that your new caregiver is going to workout. That is a blessing to have someone come in and give you a break. Sounds like you have a good doctor that is not willing to rush into surgery. Will be praying the meds work. Your “enjoying the season” sounds really nice Barbara! Merry Christmas!!

  3. Glad to hear of your answered prayer, Barb. And I know that new caregivers can be tricky and a good one is a HUGE blessing! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Barbara, Our eldest son has SVT that started while he was preparing to be a missionary pilot. The ablation sounded scary in its own way. He chose to give up flying. He seems to be doing well, But he and his family live in KY and he might not tell me all – to protect me from the knowledge. Did yours start young? Kaycee

    • Hi Kaycee,

      No, mine only started about 14 years ago, though I did have some trouble with palpitations in college that they chalked up to stress and caffeine, but that may have actually been the beginning of this. I went off all caffeine a few years ago. From everything I’ve heard and read, the ablation usually goes well without complications, though there are always risks to any surgery. It sounds like if one has to have a heart problem, this is the one to have. 🙂 I’m told SVTs aren’t life-threatening, whereas a colleague of my husband had a different type of heart rhythm problem that they said could cause a stroke if it wasn’t dealt with, and the surgery lasted many more hours than this kind of ablation does. So I am glad I don’t have that one. I’ve talked to people who have had an ablation, and they say it was no problem and they wonder that I haven’t had it done yet. If I ever do, I’ll probably wonder that myself. 🙂 But so far I just haven’t felt at peace about it: whether that is from the Lord or my own reluctance, I don’t know, but I am asking His guidance in it.

      On Fri, Dec 19, 2014 at 2:25 PM, Stray Thoughts wrote: > >

  5. Barbara
    I have the same condition. My younger brother had it for years. It just happened to me in April of this year.
    My brother did have the ablation and he is doing fine now. He still has to take some meds. But he does not have to worry about it to beat to fast.
    I have done a little better down in altitude now that I have moved to Calif. Hoping it will do ok, but you just do not know.
    Nina

  6. That’s nice that you found another caretaker for your MIL, it’s not easy, because old people hate changes ! I have no experiences (fortunately) with heart deceases so I can’t comment on that. I only know that there is a big progress made in this domain !

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

