Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

I’ve been finished with the TBR Pile Challenge for a while and finished or close to finished with the others as well, so I thought I would wrap them up all in one post except for the Back to the Classics Challenge, which I should complete within a few days. Some of these will overlap – I could not have participated in multiple challenges if they hadn’t.

2014tbrbutton

The 2014 TBR Pile Challenge hosted by Roof Beam Reader was to read 12 books in a year that have been on your shelves unread with a publication date before 2013. My original post is here. My links are to my reviews:

1. Made to CraveSatisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst

2. Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell

3. Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge

4. The House Is Quiet, Now What? by Janice Hanna and Kathleen Y’Barbo

5. How to Read Slowly by James W. Sire

6. How to Be a Writer by Barbara Baig

7. Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias

8. The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis

9. Loving the Church by John Crotts

10. The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd

11. Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal: A Boy, Cancer, and God by Michael Kelley

12. Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck

I did not read How To Be a Writer. I want to some time, but just couldn’t get motivated to start it this year. However, we were allowed two alternates and I read both of them, totally 13 books for this challenge:

Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen

Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser

I haven’t decided yet if I will do this challenge next year, but I did like that it did motivate me to get to books that had been untouched on my shelves or in my Kindle app for too long.

bible-verse-christian-hebrews-12-1-2The Cloud of Witnesses Challenge was sponsored by Becky at Operation Actually Read Bible, and the idea was to read nonfiction books by godly authors who have gone on to be with Jesus. Sermons or articles could count as well, but I did not keep track of those. I did plan to read at least four books, but got a little more in:

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell

How I Know God Answers Prayer by Rosalind Goforth

Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis

The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer

On Stories and Other Essays on Literature by C. S. Lewis. I am not sure if this counts – it is non-fiction, and C. S. Lewis is in heaven, but though it is not a theological book, it does apply spiritual truth to the topic.

The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses by C. S. Lewis

By the end of the year I will also have completed Traveling Toward Sunrise, a daily devotional by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman, Daily Light, a devotional of Scripture verses compiled by Samuel Bagster, and Come Thou Long Expected Jesus, a compilation of essays compiled by Nancy Guthrie having to do with Christmas (some of those authors there would fit this category – Luther, Whitefield, Lloyd-Jones, Edwards, Spurgeon, Augustine, Schaeffer, etc.).

I am thankful to Becky for this challenge. It had been a long time since I had read Tozer and some of these types of books, and it was very beneficial to get back into them.

 

Nonfiction Challenge hosted at The Introverted ReaderThe Nonfiction Reading Challenge was to read any non-fiction book on any topic. There were different levels one could aim for:

Dilettante–Read 1-5 non-fiction books

Explorer–Read 6-10

Seeker–Read 11-15

Master–Read 16-20

I was aiming for Seeker. The non-fiction books I read so far this year are:

Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus compiled by Nancy Guthrie

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell

Gospel Meditations for Missions, not reviewed.

Gospel Meditations for the Hurting by Chris Anderson and Joe Tyrpak, not reviewed.

The House Is Quiet, Now What? by Janice Hanna and Kathleen Y’Barbo

How I Know God Answers Prayer by Rosalind Goforth

How to Read Slowly by James W. Sire

Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge

Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts by Ian Morgan Cron

The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer

Loving the Church by John Crotts

Made to Crave Action Plan Participant’s Guide by Lysa TerKeurst and Ski Chilton

Made to CraveSatisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst

Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis

On Stories and Other Essays on Literature by C. S. Lewis

Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi

Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias

Walking in the Spirit: A Study Through Galatians 5 by Steve Pettit

Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal: A Boy, Cancer, and God by Michael Kelley

The Weight of Glory and Other Addresses by C. S. Lewis

Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck

Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin

In addition to Traveling Toward Sunrise and Daily Light, mentioned above, I will also have completed Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room by Nancy Guthrie.

So that’s 22, or 25 including the ones I will finish by year’s end, more than I had planned. Since I usually gravitate toward fiction, I am pleased. The TBR Challenge contributed greatly to this one: most of the books I have on my shelves but have not read yet are non-fiction.

As I said with the TBR challenge, I have not yet decided whether to participate in any of these next year, assuming all of the hosts will be hosting them again. I did enjoy that they got some books into my reading that might not have gotten there otherwise, but I didn’t like the self-imposed feeling of  pressure at the beginning of the year that I “had” to get these done before I could pick up any book just for pleasure. I am not going to think about it until after Christmas. But I would recommend any of these challenges to you: they were all beneficial.

6 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

  1. Are you familiar with PaperBackSwap? It’s http://www.paperbackswap.com. Don’t know if we’ve discussed it or not. I think you’d really like it. No $$ changes hands; you pay for the postage (media mail) for any books requested from you, and build up credits for that; then you can pick any books you like that are available, for FREE. I have loved it over the years.

  2. Pingback: TBR Challenge | Stray Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Books Read in 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  4. Pingback: 2015 TBR Pile Challenge | Hope Is the Word

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

