Friday’s Fave Five

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It’s been kind of a whirlwind week! Here are the highlights:

1. Games with the family. My oldest son was here for Thanksgiving through Monday, and last weekend the whole family played some games together, one of my favorite things. He introduced us to a new one, Telestrations. It’s kind of a combination of the old “telephone” game (where one person whispers something into another person’s ear, and they whisper the same thing to the next person, etc., until you finally hear what the message is with the last person, usually something way different from how it started) and illustrations or Pictionary. It was absolutely hilarious. So much fun.

2. Decorating for Christmas. I love that we still do this together as a family. It would probably take me all week if I had to do it by myself. I wasn’t really in “the Christmas spirit” when we started – it just didn’t seem like it was time yet – but somehow Christmas decorations and music helped get me there. Plus my oldest took some snowflake ornaments and put them on light fixtures in other parts of the house without telling us, so it has been fun to discover those.

3. Time with friends. A new friend at church and I had been talking about wanting to get together for some months now, and had to reschedule actual plans a couple of times, but we finally met for lunch this week. I haven’t done anything like that in a very long time, and enjoyed it very much. Then I had been wanting to catch up with another friend that I hadn’t been able to talk to in weeks. I had e-mailed, but I wanted to talk to her in person. Our church isn’t that big, but sometimes there are people you just don’t cross paths with if you sit in different places. This last Sunday as I was getting ready to leave, I came across her in the lobby, and she wasn’t already talking to someone else, so we got to catch up. There have been some significant events in her life in the past few months, and I had heard through the grapevine of possible plans she was making, so it was good to talk to her directly.

4. A pleasant surprise. Since our pastor’s passing, we’ve had various people preaching at church – both of our assistant pastors, various men in the church, and guest speakers – while the search committee is doing the background work to try to find a new pastoral candidate. This last Sunday I found on the church bulletin the name of an old friend that we had attended church with for the first 14 years we were married. I had known him since before he was married, loved his mom (one of the merriest-hearted Christians I have ever known before Alzheimer’s came to visit her) and wife, he was one of our Sunday School teachers, and he has done some writing since then that has truly blessed me. Besides our former pastor of the same church, there is no one whose exposition of the Word of God I would trust more. It was such a joy to hear him speak again, and to touch base just a little.

5. A new job. Some of you know that my youngest son has been looking for a job since receiving his Associate’s degree last May. He’s sent his resume in to various places and even had some interviews, but nothing had turned up yet. Jason’s company was hiring for Christmas, and he sent in Jesse’s resume – and he got hired and started yesterday! Even though it is not in his chosen field, it is still work. Since he doesn’t have any work experience except for yard work for a man at church, it will not only help his resume but will also help with various skills and experience needed in any type of job. And….the husband of the person interviewing him works at the same company where Jesse did some work for one of his classes, and he is looking for someone in Jesse’s field, so she said she would pass his interview on to him.

photo 1(2)

Happy Friday!

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Congratulations to you youngest son. What a great smile! How wonderful to have a person you know for a new pastor. Family games are always fun – it’s one of the best things I know about being home. Looks like Christmas has indeed begun for you and your family. Have a great weekend!

    • He was just speaking that one Sunday – we’ve yet to find a new pastor. But it was nice to see and hear him again if only for one service. I wouldn’t mind at all if he were our new pastor! But I think he has a pretty full ministry where he is.

  2. The simple blessings are the best! I’m guessing I know the speaker you referred to 🙂 There is nothing like spending time with family and maintaining old traditions, especially when some of the kids have moved away.

  3. Hi Barbara,

    Glad to get caught up on your blog somewhat, finally! 🙂

    That game sounds like fun – I love that your family plays games together.

    And congrats to Jesse 1st job. I cried when I got my first paycheck and saw how much they took out for taxes!! Haha — I hope he won’t have as dramatic reaction when he gets that first check.

    Have a great weekend.

  4. Congratulation to you son! (and is that a giant chocolate chip cookie?! Yum!)
    It’s nice to have family help with decorations. My youngest daughter helped me. Now that we have an artificial tree, my husband usually just enjoys the benefits of our labors ;). That’s ok. I’m kind of picky and I know he isn’t!

  5. Barbara – You mentioned an old friend and said “has done some writing since then that has truly blessed me.
    Are these writtings available to the public?
    If so could you list them.
    Nina

  6. Sounds like a wonderful week of surprises! Our family enjoys playing board games too! However, I have outlawed Monopoly! 🙂
    contgrats on your sons job. Our daughter graduated in July and finally found a position in late October on an as needed basis (typical in health care). Last week she was offered a full time position coming open in January! God is so good! He honors mommas prayers! 🙂 LOL~

  7. Congratulations to your son! That is wonderful news!! Nice that you got to catch up with some friends. I wasn’t in the Christmas mood yet either until we started to decorate and play the music. My girl did the tree this year and it was wonderful having her take it on.

  8. Hi – joining in the Friday Fave Five Fun from Susanne’s blog. Congrats to your son. Jobs can be hard to find – so it is great news that he got one. Sounds like you had a good week. I am now following you and will be back to visit again!

  9. Goodness, Barbara, I’m way way behind with commenting and you’ve had such wonderful posts. But first of all, the blessings of the week! Hope that Jesse’s job will lead to other jobs and other contacts. Sounds like you’ve had some pleasant contacts at church as well. So nice reconnect with old friends.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

