What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2014

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

I don’t know where in the world November has gone. It doesn’t seem like I have gotten much reading in, but sometimes I surprise myself when I actually start listing it.

Since last time I have completed:

The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobook, reviewed here.

The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis, 5th in her Home to Hickory Hollow series, reviewed here.

Walking in the Spirit: A Study Through Galatians 5 by Steve Pettit, reviewed here.

Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts by Ian Morgan Cron, audiobook, reviewed here.

Nope, no surprises this time – only two actual (paper) books!

I’m currently reading:

Weight of Glory by C. S. Lewis

The Pound a Day Diet by Rocco DiSpirito

Number the Stars by Lois Lowrey for for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club for November

The Gift of the Magi and Other Christmas Stories by O. Henry, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Henry van Dyke, and Leo Tolstoy

Next up:

To Kill a Mockingbird for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club for December

Other than that I am not sure. I got out my Christmas books (some fictional, some devotional) and was surprised to discover a couple I didn’t even know I had and one that I thought I had read but hadn’t. I like to do a little Christmas reading during December but haven’t decided which of these to attempt yet.

Speaking of Christmas books…I am giving some away here.

Some of you might be interested in a post I wrote this month about reasons to read fiction and Christian fiction. It’s one I have been wanting to write for ages, and I was glad to finally do so.

Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: November 2014

  1. I appreciated your review of Cron’s book. You are such a thorough reviewer; you always give me a clearer recollection about things I’d forgotten if I’d already read the book, or a clearer indication about what the book is about so I can decide whether or not I want to read it if I hadn’t already.

    Lots of good books ahead for you!

  2. You always have so many interesting reads going! I remember enjoying Number the Stars years back, when I was teaching. The Holmes audiobooks sound interesting. My girls are so fascinated by the current “Sherlock” show that I might have to look into having them listen to audio books of some of the originals.

  3. I have had your post about reading fiction opened up in my web browser for awhile now! I keep saving it for a “quiet moment” so that I can really engage with what you have to share on the topic. Soon! I promise. Soon! 🙂 I’m very curious for your thoughts on that one.

    And where DID November go? I forgot about Nighstand . . . again!

  4. I often feel, like you, that I haven’t read much until I start listing my reading in a Nightstand post.

    I enjoy that you have Christmas books that you “bring out”. I really enjoy Christmas but often feel like the winter slump means I don’t do as much fancy stuff as I wish I did around Christmas-time. Having some Christmas books that I bring out come advent might give me something low-stress that’s still Christmasy to do. Hmm…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

