Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall backgroundIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I know we frequently talk about how fast time is flying – but it seems like November is going by with supersonic speed! I can’t believe there is only one week left, and then Christmas season starts – though I know some of you have started already. πŸ™‚

Here are some of my favorites of the last week:

1. A new CD. I just got the Wilds Christian Camp‘s new CD, “I Cling to Christ,” a few days ago, and I have played it multiple times already. Some of the hymns are older, some are newer, a couple are unfamiliar to me, but they are all instrumental pieces with guitar and orchestra. The one word that comes to mind to describe it is soothing.

Wilds CD

2. Getting a few cards made. Not as many as I hoped to in the time I had, but I’m glad to have a few of these on hand. I don’t even remember where I got this stamp ages ago, but the sentiment just “fits” so often.

photo(5)

3. Throw blankets. We have them draped on almost every chair and couch, and this is the time of year we use them the most, especially in the evenings. They are so just right – not too warm or heavy, but cozy.

4. Pizza delivery. We get take-out pizza from a variety of places, and one is just far enough away to justify paying a delivery fee rather than picking it up ourselves.

5. This post, Stop Waiting For a Zap, hit me right where and when I needed. It had me smiling, wincing, and tearing all at the same time. Her phrase “self-focused grump monster” was so accurate, and will stay with me a long time.

For those of you who live in the US, I wish you an early Happy Thanksgiving! We’re looking forward to our oldest son coming in and having a great time with all the family. I’ll have the monthly What’s On Your Nightstand post on Tuesday and hope to get one more book review up next week, but between visiting and cooking, I may be a little scarce (then again, maybe not – our whole family values some computer time. πŸ™‚ ) I’m sure it is much the same with many of you, so if I don’t “see” you again before then, I hope you have a wonderful time of eating, spending time with family and friends (virtually, if not in person), and thankfulness to the Giver of all gifts.

And…I am giving away some gently-used Christmas books here – stop by if you are interested.

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I have that same stamp and I have had it for years. Its starting to not stamp well and I hate that! I didn’t know you were a stamper. It is very a soothing for me and a time to clear my head.

  2. Beautiful cards! You’re very creative. I love the old hymns so much. They take me back to my girlhood and I feel so at “home” when I hear the words. I hope you have a wonderful time with your son and family!

  3. Wow, I love your card!! Btw, I listened to some of the tracts on that CD and they are beautiful. I didn’t know Amazon had good music like that. Have a great weekend Barbara!!

  4. Your CD sounds like one I would enjoy.

    I have throws everywhere in my house, too.

    Ok, so I went over and read “Stop Waiting for a Zap.” Evidently, that is just what I’ve been doing!

  5. love your cards! they are gorgeous!! and yay for pizza delivery..as i type this i am waiting for our dinner….our teen girl has 2 friends over for a musical movie date..they are watching Fiddler on the Roof to prepare for their auditions next month..they are doing it at their high school in the spring. so i am very thankful for delivery service tonight πŸ™‚ I also love throw blankets…so cozy on these cold evenings!! happy weekend1

  6. Beautiful cards! I pray that you and your family have a wonderful, blessed Thanksgiving. May you share many hours of visiting and enjoying each others company. God bless you Barbara.

  7. I think the Christmas cards are dying out over here ! Last year I got one ! and that was from the States, lol ! I mostly get virtual cards in my emails. Takes less space !

  8. Those are lovely cards.

    P.S. I remember you mentioned grilled cheese sandwich in your FFF post a couple of weeks ago. I tried making some on a nonstick pan and I’ve been crazy about them since πŸ™‚

  9. Love those cards you created especially the ones with the leaves. I’m a card person and love to give them and to get them! Our favorite pizza places are all within a couple miles of us so we don’t get delivery anymore. It’s just faster to get it ourselves. Happy Thanksgiving and enjoy your CD.

  10. Beautiful cards, Barbara! I wish I could make them and whoever receives those from you are blessed. I miss having pizza delivered. Maybe I’ll try this at home when I return to Kuala Lumpur to be with my family.

  11. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well! I agree that November is FLYING by … and yes, your cards are beautiful — another talent you have πŸ˜‰ The CD does sound very restful; I think we probably have similar tastes in music.

  12. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too! I love having the ‘blankies’ around on all the chairs and sofas during this season, too.
    Beautiful cards!

  13. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours as well! We will be spending the day with some close friends from church this year. Their family has the same number of kids as ours and all the same ages so we’re a good fit for one another and are looking forward to a great time of fellowship and fun.

    Throw blankets! I have recently discovered the great need of them and fling them about all pieces of furniture also. πŸ˜€

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

