Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall backgroundIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I don’t know where this week has gone – I can’t believe we’re almost halfway through November already! It has been a pleasant week. Here are some of my favorite parts:

1. Family game night. Jason and Mittu brought dinner over last Friday and Jesse’s girlfriend came over, and we introduced her to Settlers of Catan. Timothy even got in on the action:

T and Catan

2. Reading to Timothy for the first time. I had been waiting for that for a long time. πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to many more times to come.

photo(4)

3. Pretty pens. Somehow my desk drawer supply was nearly gone, and if you have to buy them anyway, might as well buy pretty ones. πŸ™‚

photo(3)

4. Getting my Christmas cards. I don’t think I have ever bought them this early. Maybe that means I’ll get them out earlier, too! πŸ™‚ I’ve always liked getting them from my local Christian bookstore, but the one here is expensive. Last year I bought them from a local discount store, and they had some nice Christian-themed ones. I wanted to get them early this year to find the best selection, and I was glad to have an opportunity to do so this week.

5. Apple Cake With Brown Sugar Glaze, a recipe from my real-life friend, Mary Beth. I was supposed to make a dessert for the family game night when I remembered this. Scrumptious!

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. What sweet times you have ahead reading to that little one! I like pretty pens too. When I was working as a nurse, it was hard to keep them because I’d put them down and someone else would pick them up. Of course, I did that too!

  2. great list of faves! and how special that you got to read to your grandson. I saved sooo many of my daughters’ books for this very reason. now they just need the boyfriends and marriage….someday….LOL

  3. Wow! Timothy is getting big! What a little man! Looks like you had a great time with your family. Christmas cards? I haven’t even started thinking about them… guess I should though! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Nice cards here are expensive so I always buy mine at the end of the season sales. Not as good of a selection but so much more affordable. I love getting cards and last year got hardly any. I remember growing up every surface in our living room was filled with Christmas cards people had sent my folks. It makes me sad that it’s a tradition that’s dying away.

    Timothy looks like he’s right into the game! LOL. And looking like he’s really concentrating on the book too. What a precious milestone you enjoyed with him. Passing on your love of reading must be thrilling for you!

  5. Timothy looks like such an attentive boy. I’m amazed how much he has grown! I’m sure you are looking forward to many more books read together.

    Thanks to your prompting, I went out and picked up some Christmas cards. Appreciate the nudge! And equipped with your cards and pens, I hope you make the progress you want to on writing and sending.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

