Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall backgroundIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Here are some of my favorite parts of the week:

1. A relatively quiet week after a couple of busy ones.

2. Getting some odds and ends tasks done – those little things you see but can’t tend to at the time. It was good to get several of those taken care of this week. Plus I was able to make definite plans for a project that has been on the back burner for years. I hope to actually start on it next week if not before.

3. A scenic route. Normally I am not a fan of going for a drive just to do so. The car is not where I like to spend time, and I like to get from Point A to Point B in the shortest time possible. But in my errand running yesterday my GPS app decided to take me on some back roads I had never seen before. About the time I began to seriously wonder where I was, I figured I was almost at the end of the route, and if I wasn’t where I was supposed to be, I’d reconfigure it. I did end up at the right place, both times, though I am still not sure how I got there! But the timing and everything worked out and the drive was truly lovely. Though some trees are losing leaves, there is still a lot of beautiful color to see. In a couple of hundred yards on one road it seemed to be raining leaves.

4. Running errands on a perfect fall day. Some of my favorite stores (Joann’s, Michael’s, Tuesday Morning) are far enough away that I have to make special plans to get over there and then try to hit all three. As it turned out, I didn’t find what I needed at any of them, but I still enjoyed the outing, along with a stroll through Babies R Us! πŸ™‚ It was a windy, blustery day, cool but not enough to need a sweater, my hair was flying and leaves were swirling every time I got out of the car. I find that kind of weather invigorating!

5. The privilege of voting…and the fact that most of the elections I was a part of concluded the way I wanted. πŸ™‚

My “blustery day” reminded me of one of my favorite childhood videos, Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day. My kids loved Pooh when they were little, and I can’t wait to show these to Timothy! Here’s an excerpt:

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh, you know I love to get odds and ends done. Love that feeling of accomplishment!

    Fall weather invigorates me, too!

    I’m feeling happy because most of my people I voted for was elected. That usually doesn’t happen for me … but I am definitely thankful for the priviledge of voting.

  2. Your week sounds wonderful, Barbara! I’m glad you ended up at the right place you needed to be. Now, I just wonder why it would be that you enjoyed walking through Babies R Us πŸ˜‰ That Timothy is so precious and I know he is going to enjoy anything you do with him!

  3. oh yay for Pooh! Dave and I used to LOVE watching those videos with the girls! I love a good autumn day for errands too and yay for getting odds and ends done and pretty scenic drives! enjoy the weekend and stay warm!

  4. I too like to get from Point A to Point B in the minimum of time but those scenic routes are very nice when they come. I love that video of Winnie the Pooh’s Blustery Day. Almost as much as when he gets stuck in a hole due to eating too much honey!

  5. Ah, yes, the scenic route! Glad it was a pretty one and that you actually did end up where you needed to be! Google maps usually takes into account local traffic conditions so that I’ve been through some unexpected roads through some pretty neighborhoods. Your quieter week sounds lovely. So good to have some before the holiday scrambles.

  6. I love that it’s Fall and feels like it. I love getting out any about on cool days when you have to wear a jacket. Glad you had a nice trip through a new route. The Pooh clip is great! My children (grown up now) loved Pooh!

  7. My son is a fan of Winnie the Pooh too. I call him Baby Pooh. Glad your GPS took you on a scenic drive. Raining leaves – I love your use of the two words together. The colors must be fabulous too.

  8. I actually wish I could meander in the car. Working full time makes my weekends chock full of errands and it seems I’m always just zooming from one to do item to another without enjoying the process. I love Winnie the Pooh!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

