Friday’s Fave Five

FFF fall backgroundIt’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It has been kind of a weird week for me, but thankfully it’s about over and everything is back to normal – whatever that is. 🙂 . Here are some of my favorite parts of it:

1. Getting my fall decorations up, finally!

2. Singing in the car with Jesse. My husband stays home from church Sunday nights and Wed. nights to care for his mom (we have a caregiver there for Sunday morning). If I am driving with Jesse in the car, I usually have music from my phone playing through the car’s speakers. Sometimes Jesse dozes, sometimes we talk, sometimes he’s lost in a game on his phone. A lot of times I am quietly singing along with whatever is playing, and sometimes Jesse will join in. One song this last week was a dramatic old spiritual – kind of  fun.

3. Getting medical tests OVER with! I’m at “that age” (50+) where one physical will generate 2 or 3 more “routine tests.” Thankfully the last of those was completed this week.

4. Getting a colonoscopy OVER with! I’ve had this scheduled since August and had to reschedule a couple of times and have been dreading it, but finally got to the point where I wanted to go ahead and get it done so I didn’t have to think about it any more. The test itself is no problem – the preparation is pretty miserable, and it has taken most of the week for my system to get back to normal. Thankfully the doctor said everything was clear. He removed one little polyp (not uncommon for “older” people to have) that he said was benign but is sending it off to a lab to be sure.

5. Good news from an echocardiogram. This one was not routine – some of you have been reading here for a while know that I have had troubles with SVTs – supraventricular tachycardia – where the heart rate will suddenly jump into a real high rate (180-200 beats per minute), sometimes needing an ER visit to get back into a regular rhythm. It sometimes goes for years without happening and then sometimes will happen a lot. I’ve been having a lot of palpitations lately, and I wasn’t sure if that was quite the same thing, so the dr. had me wear a heart monitor for a couple of days and sent me for an echo a couple of weeks ago. It looks like the trouble still is just SVTs (a relief), and the echo showed the heart was pumping strongly, blood was flowing well, the valves were all working right. I’m supposed to see a heart doctor that specializes in electrical problems of the heart in mid-December to see what he recommends. Years ago I was told they could do an ablation where they “zap” the nerve on the heart that they think is causing the problem. Even though I’m told that is a relatively minor procedure (compared to other heart procedures), I haven’t wanted to do it. But now I’m getting to the point where wanting relief is greater than the dread of the procedure. So I am sure we’ll talk about that then. I am on a beta-blocker that helps, but they can’t increase it because it also lowers blood pressure, and since I don’t have high blood pressure in the first place, they don’t want it to go any lower. But the good news this week is that everything with the echo looked good, and the cardiologist told me that of all the arrhythmias, this one is the easiest to fix, so that’s something. 🙂

Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Glad your tests are over for a while and that everything checked out OK. Will be praying for wisdom regarding your doctor visit in December. I have a colonoscopy scheduled for this coming Thursday and will be glad to have it “behind me.” 🙂

  2. You sound a lot like me, putting off a medical procedure until the wanting the relief outweighs the dread of the procedure. I’m at that point with carpal tunnel syndrome. Glad the tests showed everything was ok. It was a fun favorite reading about Jesse singing along.

  3. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

