31 Days of Inspirational Biography: Darlene Deibler Rose learns “faith stripped of feelings, faith without trappings”

Evidence Not SeenLast year I wrote about Darlene Deibler Rose’s testimony in the book Evidence Not Seen of being a missionary in the Philippines and then imprisoned as a POW during WWII. This is one of my all-time favorite biographies. This year I wanted to share just this one excerpt. The following takes place after Darlene has been incarcerated by the Japanese for some time:

 I knew that without God, without that consciousness of His Presence in every troubled hour, I could never have made it…Quite suddenly and unexpectedly, I felt enveloped in a spiritual vacuum. “Lord, where have You gone? What have I said or done to grieve You? Why have You withdrawn Your Presence from me? Oh Father—” In a panic I jumped to my feet, my heart frantically searching for a hidden sin, for a careless thought, for any reason why my Lord should have withdrawn His Presence from me. My prayers, my expressions of worship, seemed to go no higher than the ceiling; there seemed to be no sounding board. I prayed for forgiveness, for the Holy Spirit to search my heart. To none of my petitions was there any apparent response.

 I sank to the floor and quietly and purposefully began to search the Scriptures hidden in my heart…

 “Lord, I believe all that the Bible says. I do walk by faith and not by sight. I do not need to feel You near, because Your Word says You will never leave me nor forsake me. Lord, I confirm my faith; I believe.” The words of Hebrews 11:1 welled up, unbeckoned, to fill my mind: “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” The evidence of things not seen. Evidence not seen — that was what I put my trust in — not in feelings or moments of ecstasy, but in the unchanging Person of Jesus Christ. Suddenly I realized that I was singing:

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

 I was assured that my faith rested not on feelings, not on moments of ecstasy, but on the Person of my matchless, changeless Savior, in Whom is no shadow caused by turning. In a measure I felt I understood what Job meant when he declared, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him” (13:35). Job knew that he could trust God, because Job knew the character of the One in Whom he had put his trust. It was faith stripped of feelings, faith without trappings. More than ever before, I knew that I could ever and always put my trust, my faith, in my glorious Lord. I encouraged myself in the Lord and His Word.

 

photo 3(2)

For the 31 Days writing challenge, I am sharing 31 Days of Inspirational Biography. You can find others in the series here.

10 thoughts on “31 Days of Inspirational Biography: Darlene Deibler Rose learns “faith stripped of feelings, faith without trappings”

  1. We have truly been blessed by the book and are re-watching her video. It is spellbinding. My boys almost memorized when they were young!
    This is a great series you are doing. Thank you, Barbara!

  2. Thanks, Barbara, for sharing this excerpt. I haven’t read this biography either. The verse from Job that you quoted is a fave of mine and has helped me through a few tough times.

    Also thanks for the link to the book you talked about yesterday. I ordered it!

  3. Thanks for sharing this, Barbara. I hadn’t heard of her before. I liked this line especially: “Job knew that he could trust God, because Job knew the character of the One in Whom he had put his trust.” Being in the Word helps us to know His character. If you know His character then you know He will never leave you and He can be trusted.

  4. Love this! Thanks for sharing it. I especially love the last line. “I encouraged myself in the Lord and His Word.” I need to remember to do that often.

  5. Pingback: 31 Days of Inspirational Biography | Stray Thoughts

  6. Oooh … goosebumps when reading this! How like God to even lead her to a scripture about evidence not seen when she wasn’t feeling His presence … ! I too loved this bio years back. I gave it to my daughter to read and although she hasn’t yet, I hope she will soon. It was life-changing for me. As an aside to a post on my blog earlier — I do not watch OUAT, but my girls do. Several times I have heard them talk about the Frozen storyline there 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

