Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Wow. I hadn’t planned to leave my blog unattended for a whole week! I haven’t been around to many of your sites as well. It just turned out to be a busy week – a couple of medical appointments, some shopping for my youngest son’s birthday next week that was more involved than usual, some early morning wakefulness translating into grogginess during the day and naps in the afternoon. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch up with everyone today. Here are some favorite parts of the week:

1. A funeral is never a favorite thing, but our pastor’s memorial service  last week (after his passing due to pancreatic cancer just a few short months after being diagnosed) and the testimonies and music and the fellowship afterward were deeply meaningful and comforting.

2. Grandparents Day. Did you know there was such a day, and that it was last Sunday? I had seen it on the calendar for years and sent cards for it to my mom when she was alive, but I hadn’t heard of anyone really celebrating it. Thankfully my son and daughter-in-law did! They came over after church and fixed both lunch and dinner, and of course I got to spend time with the sweet one who made me a grandparent. 🙂

Us and Tim

3. Good progress. A few days ago marked the day that Timothy had been out of the NICU as many days as he had been in. Somehow the days have gone faster since he has been out! My son has been taking a picture of him with a little stuffed sheep every week, and posted this picture on that day:

Tim progress

4. Sleep. I mentioned wakefulness – several times this week I’ve awakened at 4, and then prayed, thought, or listened to music trying to go back to sleep til 6:30 or so, sometimes not drifting off again until almost time to get up. That does often negatively affect some of the day. This morning was different – I did wake up at some point (apparently it’s part of being middle-aged…) but was able to go right back to sleep.

5. Showers. I was unable to take a shower a couple of days this week due to wearing a heart monitor – nothing major, but I’ve been having some palpitations, and my doctor thinks it’s just another part of being a certain age (sigh!), but wanted to check on it, especially as I also have a history of SVTs. Of course while I had it on I had fewer and they were very mild, whereas the days before and after I had more of them and longer-lasting ones. :-/ Haven’t heard anything yet about the readings. Anyway, I couldn’t take a shower while I had it on, and though I was able to touch up here and there, it just wasn’t the same! I take it so for granted, I forget there are places that don’t have such things.

That about wraps up my week. Hope yours was good!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh how sweet to see Timothy! He sure has come a long way! What a joy for grandma and grandpa! You have a very thoughtful son and daughter in law. I am BAD! I didn’t do anything on that day and my grand lives with me! 😦
    Hope you get more sleep… been kind of doing the same only I try to stay in bed or I won’t go back to sleep at all!
    Praying that your palpitations go away!
    Have a great weekend Barbara and! BTW I just ordered Women of the Word. I can’t wait to get it!

  2. I love the idea of your grandson’s picture being made with the stuffed sheep – it certainly gives us an idea of how far he has come! He is looking great – especially good in grandma’s arms.

    It’s easy to take our basic blessings for granted, isn’t it. I’m thankful, too, for creature comforts. I found out during our flood back in 2011 just how much I missed them!

  3. Love that photo of the three of you with your little grandson thriving. Praying right now his little body keeps going strong!
    Glad you could get back to sleep this morning. Hope your readings come back ok. Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy your showers!

  4. Hello, Barbara,
    I’ve watched your FB postings about your Grand one and I am so happy for you. I had to wait on a shower for a couple of days due to a procedure I had on my back, so I know just how you feel.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

  5. This past week has been busy here as well and I didn’t blog either! Hopefully next week. It’s just the way that it goes sometimes.

    WOAH! The pictures of T with the stuffed sheep are remarkable as you look at how big he is now! How sweet of him to come spend time with you on Grandparents’ Day! 😀 I love that.

    Glad you are having the heart checked out. Seems like a wise thing. Congrats on being able to take a shower though! I can imagine that was rather unpleasant.

  6. What an excellent idea to have taken these pictures with the little sheep ! He is a gorgeous little baby now ! Grandparents day ? It exists but as each country has another day, I don’t know which day my son should choose, lol ! That’s the same with mother’s day. Taking no showers is nothing ! Our grandparents didn’t either, and survived most important is that your heart is OK !

  7. Boy that little sheep really does show how much he has grown!! And is that a darling little dimple I see as he smiles at Grandpa? Glad your doctor is on top of everything and hoping the results will be good news.

  8. What a great idea to show how quickly little Tim has been growing. He looks delighted to be with his Grands 🙂

    What is it with being monitored that makes systems behave?? Seems the same with cars as with our bodies. I hope your palpitations recede and that your schedule will return to near normal soon.

  9. Yeah, I’ve worn that heart monitor too–the only inconvenience as you said is not showering.
    Your little Timothy is growing so fast and looks so healthy! What a blessing! I noticed that little dimple in his cheek–so cute!
    I hope you’ll be able to continue to sleep ok. Not fun to be sleep deprived.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

