Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I was hesitant about doing an FFF today since my pastor passed away this week, but since we can find blessings and evidence of God’s goodness even at such times, and he wouldn’t want us to be morose, I decided to go ahead with five favorites of the week.

1. A 3-day weekend due to Labor Day. Always fun to have an extra day off during the week and get together with family.

2. Timothy going to church. They’re starting to be able to take him out amongst other people now, though they still can’t put him in the nursery and still have to be cautious about being around sick people.

3. Winning an Amazon gift card from Lost Generation Reader in connection with the Austen in August reading challenge! That’s probably where I shop most often, so it’s a delight to have more means to do so!

4. Comforting and encouraging each other. I described our Wednesday night service in more detail in a previous post, but we found out our pastor had passed away shortly before, and it was such a help to be there and encourage each other from the Bible. Then on Facebook ever since, various people have been sharing anecdotes, Scripture, thoughts, and photos (even funny ones).

5. The hope we can have of heaven when we’ve believed on the Lord Jesus Christ as our Savior and Lord. The loss of loved ones just would not be bearable without that. I urge you to be ready to meet Him, because the end of life will come to all of us, and we truly don’t know how much time we have. Besides being prepared for death, accepting Christ also means His forgiveness, help, and grace for this life. If you’d like to know more please read this, and let me know if I can be of help in any way.

6 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Barbara, so sorry to hear of your pastor’s passing. I’m glad you have your church family to comfort during the loss, and I’m glad all of who trust in Christ have an assurance of a heavenly home. It’s the most important gift ever!

    It’s great that Timothy can now go places! I’m sure your favorite place for him to go is your house!

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your pastor. Even when you know it’s coming, it’s still difficult. And even when you have the hope of eternal life through Jesus, it’s still difficult.

    My friend with the brain tumor got a very bad report yesterday. Stage 4 glioblastoma. One of the worst. There is so much sadness in the world. We can be so thankful for a God who cares and who sent Jesus to rescue us.

    God bless you during this difficult time.

  3. Barbara again my condolences in the loss of your pastor. Glad you had your church community to gather with and share that grief and to encourage one another. Love what you shared about our hope in heaven. And on the happy note, it’s great to hear that Timothy is starting to get out and about and even going to church.

  4. Oh Barbara, iI’m so sorry. Not sorry for your pastor but for you who are left. Praying for comfort for you all.
    Good news that Timothy is growing so well and is able to get out and about.

  5. I, too, am sorry to hear of your pastor. I read the post on my iPad when you first posted it but I find it hard to comment on that device. Death is so difficult. It sounded like your church has handled it just as beautifully as can be done though. And I am glad that you went ahead with posting FFF because while death is horrible, ugly and nasty, there are still things to be grateful for it and it seems fitting to do an FFF.

    Great news about Timothy being able to be out and about. Does he have dimples?! I forgot to ask that in my other comment.

    • Yes, he does! I have a hard time commenting with my iPad mini, too – especially the word verification some blogs have. At some point in the process it usually all disappears on me, so I usually wait to comment til I can get to the computer.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

