Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

It actually started out as a frustrating week, with a medical appointment where they couldn’t do what was scheduled (which they could have forewarned me about with a simple phone call! Argh!), so I felt like that whole morning was wasted. Then the rest of the week I’ve just been kind of tired and not as productive as I wanted to be. But – hopefully next week will be better! Here are some good parts of the week:

1. Baby smiles, giggles, and vocalizing. I meant to mention a couple of weeks ago that I received my first full-fledged, on-purpose smile from Timothy. ♥ He’s also started laughing a bit, and Jason sent a video of him “talking,” making sounds in response to what Jason was saying to him. So cute!

2. These little dealies:

plug

Silicon plugs for the iPhone. Some of you may remember I had to get a new phone recently (thankfully it was a week or two before its warranty ran out)  because it was so full of dust it wouldn’t recharge, even after trying to clean it out. I must have especially linty pockets – sometimes my phone is just covered in white dust when I take it from my pocket. These were only a couple of dollars but took a long while to arrive. But they work well and hopefully will prevent future dust problems with my phone.

3. Find my Friends app on the iPhone. It allows you to see where your friends are – with their approval, of course. We just use it with immediate family, but it’s useful in seeing when Jim is heading home from work without having to text him to ask or when the kids have left home when we’re planning to have them over or meet somewhere. My husband doesn’t have the kind of job where he can clock out on the dot the same time every evening, so it helps with dinner preparations to have some idea when to expect him.

4. Chick-Fil-A day for our pastor. The Chick-Fil-A in the town where our church is held a day in our pastor’s name where portions of proceeds from collected receipts for the day went toward our pastor, who is battling pancreatic cancer. He’s such a regular customer there, our assistant pastor said they joke that it is his second office, and all of his daughters have worked there. I thought it was so neat of them to do that. We didn’t go because the distance was a little much for lunch, and we gave through another venue, but I enjoyed seeing tweets and Facebook statuses and photos of our church folks there through the day. Can’t wait to hear what the results were!

5. Coca-cola cake from Cracker Barrel. I passed by there while out the other day and indulged in a piece to take home. So good.

Bonus: An excellent book that impacts and stays with me for days. Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity was that book for me, just finished this week.

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Now I want some coca-cola cake 😉 Baby giggles are the best. It’s one of the best sounds and always makes my heart happy.

    Thanks for the heads up on those little doo dads for the iPhone. I know that will come in handy for me too.

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend!!

  2. i’m glad you could find some blessings in your week despite the annoying doctor’s visit and feeling so tired. How wonderful that the restaurant did that for your pastor. I will pray for him! God bless you as you enjoy a long weekend….

  3. Coca cola cake would be a nice treat to bring home!

    Your plugs for your phone seem like a good idea. I never considered dust getting into a phone …

    Smiles and baby videos are the best!

    What a great thing that Chick-Fil-A did for your pastor!

  4. Just wanted you to know I clicked through and bought a Kindle copy of Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus after reading your Nighstand post. I’m looking forward to reading it!

  5. Sounds as if Thimoty’s long time in the hospital is forgotten and he is just a normal baby now, must be a big relief for the parents that it’s over now ! I don’t want an Iphone I am happy with a simple mobile, but I have a Kindle tablet and that’s great !

  6. I love that stage that Timothy is in! So sweet and fun! It’s wonderful to hear what your local Chick-Fil-A is doing for your pastor! I am praying for him! Hope you have a great Labor day weekend!

  7. Medical appointments can be very frustrating; most of the time I don’t understand why they don’t just call. It saves hassle and a trip!

    Baby smiles are the best!

    I’ve never been to Chik-Fil-A…we don’t have one near where I live (maybe about an hour away, not sure).

    Have a great weekend!

  8. Sometimes weeks are like that frustrating and tiring–I’m glad you found the blessings–especially Timothy’s responses to you and his daddy.

    That book intrigues me–I’ll have a look for it.

  9. That’s a cool app. I may want that on my phone some time when the kiddo is bigger and starts to roam. It’s my first time to hear of coca-cola cake. Sounds something I may want to try. Love your fave no. 1! Despite the not-so-good start, glad you ended up with neat faves.

    Hazel

  10. That is a book roomie has been raving over as well. Helpful insights, interesting aspects of creation that pointed Nabeel to Christ. Hope your week is off to a good start — no more pointless appointments!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

