What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2014

 What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Hard to believe we’re 2/3 through the year already and summer will be over before the next Nightstand. I’m glad to spend some of the passing time with good books.

Since last time I have completed:

Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser, reviewed here. Didn’t like this as much as I thought I would, but it is an interesting peek into her life.

Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay, reviewed here. Loved this!

On Stories and Other Essays on Literature by C. S. Lewis, reviewed here. Some excellent observations.

Gospel Meditations for the Hurting by Chris Anderson and Joe Tyrpak. Didn’t review this as it is just a 31-day devotional. The tone is not what I’d call warm and fuzzy, but the Biblical truths are right on target and helpful.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobook, reviewed here.

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, audiobook, reviewed here.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, audiobook. This was a re-listen as I read it in 2008 and listened to the audiobook in 2013. My previous review is here.

I’m currently reading:

Undetected by Dee Henderson. Loving it.

Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi. Excellent.

The Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen. Enjoyed the first part – not enjoying the middle so much. We’ll see how it ends up.

Next up:

Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung, Ted Kluck, and David F. Wells. This will finish my TBR Challenge list. I need to get it read and off my every Nightstand TBR section, but I wanted to take a break from my reading challenges with some fiction.

The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club. I have been wanting to try MacDonald for some time and this book in particular.

Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good, NEWEST book by Jan Karon! Can’t wait! It’s supposed to come out in early September and I have pre-ordered it.

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis

In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

I’ve got some good reading to look forward to! How about you?

11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: August 2014

  1. I JUST finished the Seeking Allah book–it was really really good!
    I can’t wait for the new Jan Karon book either!!! James liked The Princess and the Goblin–that was quite a few years ago that we read it:)

  2. oops! I forgot all about this one! Not that I have much to report but I did read something. Looks like even though you had company and a busy month you got a lot done for the Austen challenge! I really need to plan ahead for next year. This is the first year in three or four that I have not participated. And I have not read all her works yet!
    I have the Mitford series on my bookshelf but just haven’t gotten back to it. I really liked it.
    Hope your September is as good as your August. 🙂

  3. Wow! That is a lot of reading! :). I see several on here I want to read. I’m interested in the Seeking Allah book especially. I had forgotten that George MacDonald book was up next for Carrie’s challenge. Hmmm. I wonder if we can fit it in as a read aloud?

  4. Just finished ‘Lingering Echoes’ by Erica Kiefer- a great read!

    I am currently reading ‘The Legend of Sheba: Rise of a Queen’ by Tosca Lee.

    I have a few in my TBR that I hope to get to, but my top three books to read soon are:

    1. Unteachable by Leah Raeder

    2. Overwhelmed by Perry Noble

    3. Tug of War by K. Larsen

    As you can see, I have a mixture of things here. The life of a book reviewer I guess. Thanks for a great post!

    P.S. I just featured Dee Henderson’s Undetected on Examiner the other day as one of the books that even Christian men could enjoy!

  5. Gospel Meditations for the Hurting sounds like it could be a valuable resource for someone in a season of pain. Seeking Allah would be very interesting to me too. I have to finish Les Mis before I can finish up my TBR list, so it may be awhile. ha.

  6. I have to tell you-I have been reading George MacDonald-just finished “The Baronet’s Song”. Of course, I am reading the books that have been edited for today’s reader 🙂 I have read two others as well. I so enjoyed reading this author-his characters are delightful and the stories are full of “goodness”. Yes, they are old fashioned, but I am okay with that 🙂 A refreshing change from so much of the more modern writings.

  7. Hi Barbara! I didn’t enjoy The Girl in the Gatehouse as much as I wished, but I love George MacDonald’s books. Just finished Eugenia Price’s Lighthouse (second or third time). Am reading Sarah Sundin’s In Perfect Time right now — just absolutely love her writing! Lynn Austin’s While We’re Far Apart is next. Happy reading! ~Joyce

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

