Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I was so sorry to miss last week. As I mentioned in an earlier post, my oldest son was visiting all week from out of town and my husband took the week off as well. Mittu’s mother was also visiting and Jesse’s girlfriend came on a couple of excursions. We did a lot of visiting, went on a few outings, and celebrated Jeremy’s birthday, and there just wasn’t time to get to the computer much last week. Even this week I seem to be in recuperate/catch-up mode and haven’t been online as much as I usually am. I have a bunch of posts in me Feedly to catch up on!

With all of that, the past couple of weeks have been full of many faves: this is one of those weeks that will be hard to narrow down to five! But here goes:

1. Time with family. I had thought that with our being tied down to a certain extent with Great-Grandma and Jason and Mittu being limited with how much they could take Timothy out (as a preemie he has still had more of a vulnerability to infections even though he’s older and bigger now. They’re just now starting to be able to take him out to places that aren’t too crowded) that this might be something of a boring visit for Jeremy, but we managed to get a number of activities in. Besides talking and visiting a lot (the best part!) we rented a movie (The Lego Movie), had lunch at Jason and Mittu’s one day, had a picnic at a nature center, some went kayaking one afternoon, and we visited the farmer’s market and unwittingly stepped into a history fair complete with people dressed up in Civil War era regalia, then ate at a downtown pizza place. We enjoyed celebrating Jeremy’s birthday and seeing him meet Timothy for the first time.

Jeremy and Timothyjpg

photo(8)

Thankfully we were able to manage caregivers for Great-grandma for the couple of times we wanted to do something after the usual times we have someone in for her. There were a lot of firsts for Timothy but he did well even with two doctors visits and his four month shots in the mix.

2. My birthday was yesterday. My family always makes it a special day. We went out to eat at one of my favorite restaurants (which my husband doesn’t like, but agreed to go to for my sake. I only ask to go on my birthday. πŸ™‚ ), Jim and Jason and Mittu gave me flowers, we got to Face Time with Jeremy, and everyone was thoughtful and generous with gifts.

photo(6)And triple chocolate cake was a bonus, too! πŸ™‚

photo(7)

3. Frozen yogurt. We stopped at a frozen yogurt place after the picnic. I’m lactose intolerant, and the only one I had been to before had a couple of dairy free options. This one didn’t, but I decided to try it anyway with a few Lactaid tablets. I had chocolate and peanut butter, and it was so good, with no negative effects.

4. A finished project – a new sewing machine cover.

photo 25. Lots of time doing this with this sweetie.

photo(5)There – I think I more or less covered everything! πŸ™‚

Happy Friday!

Β 

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I have been looking forward to hearing about your faves since your earlier post! Happy Birthday Barbara! You and my daughter share a special day! πŸ™‚
    Timothy is so cute and looks very happy in Grandma’s arms! So glad you had a great time with family!

  2. That last picture just made me smile ear to ear. How precious! So glad Timothy is able to take little trips out now. What progress he has made! Happy birthday to both you and your son! Lots of pink with yours. Your family knows you well.

  3. Happy belated birthday to you and to Jeremy! Looks like you had a wonderful week of visiting and sharing food.

    My, Timothy looks great for being a preemie! I expected to see a tiny tiny baby but he looks so healthy! And cute!

  4. Well, it’s apparent you had a lovely birthday celebration along with lots of good family time. So good to see little Tim growing and getting to spend some time with you. And congrats on your finished project – both beautiful and functional.

  5. Wow, you did have a busy two weeks! Happy Birthday to you and to Jeremy!
    Timothy is adorable! Isn’t being a grandma just the best thing? πŸ™‚
    Thank you for your kind words about me on Faith’s blog. Knitting is a way for me to bless other people.

  6. What a sweet post, Barbara! Happy Belated Birthday to you – may you have a most blessed year ahead. And that sewing machine cover is absolutely adorable. You did a great job!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

