Carrie at Reading to Know is celebrating her 8th blogging anniversary with a giveaway of a $50 Amazon card, but to qualify she asks readers to post a photo of themselves with a favorite book.

The hardest part for me was choosing just one book. Of course the Bible would be the all time #1 favorite, and I don’t want to just take that for granted. In a recent book meme I had a hard time choosing just one book in any category. But Evidence Not Seen (linked to my review), about a missionary wife who was taken captive and confined to a Japanese prison camp during WWII, would definitely be up there in the very top echelons of my favorites.

photo 4

8 thoughts on “

  1. That is one of my all time favorites too. I just finished reading a book that I had seen for many years but have never read before; Dorie, The Girl Nobody Loved. It is the true story of Dorie Van Stone who overcame a terrible childhood and was befriended by Darlene Diebler Rose. Dorie and her husband actually worked with the Roses for several years in New Guinea and they named their daughter Darlene.

    • I read that years ago but should probably read it again some time. I remember it being very moving. I hadn’t realized the connection between the Van Stones and Roses before – that’s neat!

  2. I loved Darlene Diebler Rose’s book. I loaned it to someone long ago and never got it back. I would read it again if I had it.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

