Friday’s Fave Five

 FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

I didn’t think I’d get to a FFF today – it has been a busy day, plus at first I just couldn’t think of anything to mention that I haven’t mentioned before. But it is ok to be thankful for things again/still. 🙂 This is where the value of an exercise like this manifests itself: after just a few concentrated minutes of thinking it over, I found that there were more than five, as usually happens. So here they are:

1. Another ladies’ newsletter completed. Some months I pretty much know what I am going to include in it, so it is just a matter of getting it down and formatted. Some months I have no idea, and this was one of those. But after praying for the Lord to direct me in what to put in, it’s so neat to have different things come to mind and then see it all come together.

2. Cake pops. I was craving something caky, but I don’t dare make a whole cake for just three of us. I was in Wal-Mart and remembered these (that’s the only place I have ever seen them):

nlFit the bill perfectly!

3. Face Time with Jason, Mittu, and Timothy. We don’t see Jason and Mittu as much as we used to since they have a new baby in the house and their own washer and dryer now. 🙂 And we got so used to seeing Timothy several days a week while he was in the hospital, that to go a couple of weeks without seeing him seems like half of forever. I was craving a visit and texted to ask if they wanted to Face Time, and we did. It was nice to catch up and fun to see him almost in person, though I enjoy pictures, too. It was nice, too, to talk to him a bit – don’t want him to forget Grandma and Grandpa’s voice! 🙂

4. An appointment deferred, or actually not deferred, but I thought I had an appointment for my physical Thursday but was relieved to find it was actually scheduled for next Monday. It was just a busy week, and though I could’ve worked around it, it was nice to discover I didn’t have to after all.

5. Take-out a couple of times this week. My husband brought home Chinese food Saturday night, and then one night when he had to be out of town Jesse and I got take-out from Ruby Tuesday’s.

Other little blessings: I’ve enjoyed our hummingbird visitor coming more frequently, bringing his mate, and getting a little less skittish about seeing us through the window, plus seeing a baby rabbit in the back yard (we’ve seen adults plenty of times but this is the first baby we’ve seen). I’ve also made some more progress on my stitching during the evenings and my new project last weekend. Here is a sneak peek:

photo(3)

A major blessing this week has been your gracious comments on my 8th blogiversary post. Thanks so much – you’re all very kind. 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Barbara, sounds like you had a great week! Ooooo – is that an applique project you are working on? Thanks for entering my quilting giveaway. I am SO PROUD of you! Have a blessed weekend.

  2. Cake pops sound super yummy!!!

    I love Chinese food. Sometimes you just need takeout!!

    I have to get to my sewing projects. Ive been trying to learn my way around the machine and had to wait for my aunt to show me!!!

  3. Love your new project!! I know what you mean about making sure the little one knows Grandmom’s voice. You know, I’ve heard you can make those cake pops, but I don’t know how. Hope you have a great week ahed.

  4. Having my morning coffee trying to get caught up on blog reading. Take out is always great during a busy week. I guess Timothy is doing well! ? That’s a blessing! Your project looks really nice! Hope to see a picture when it is finished. Hope you have a blessed relaxing weekend! Hugs!

  5. I love products that let you cure that craving with just enough. Sounds like you found a good one 🙂 I do hope you’ll get to spend more time with Tim and his parents. Praying for your pastor and his family.

  6. What a great week you’ve had ….always nice to get projects done and see family members…and take out is a life saver for those oh so busy evenings! enjoy the week ahead!!

  7. Sometimes we just get so busy (like me this weekend) that we forget about our blessings and yes, it’s a great exercise to stop and consider them. It’s easy to come up with five 🙂

    Facetime is great–we skyped with our son this weekend 🙂

  8. Those cake pops look yummy- my kids love them! 🙂 Any day I don’t have to clean up dishes from cooking is a good day- glad you go some extra relax time with take out. 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

