What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2014

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Ack! This is one of those early 4th Tuesdays that snuck up on me! I didn’t realize it was a Nightstand Tuesday until seeing others in my feed reader. Here goes:

Since last time I have completed:

The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer, reviewed here.

Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin, reviewed here, easily one of my top ten books of the year.

How to Read Slowly: Reading for Comprehension by James W. Sire, reviewed here.

The Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, second of the Sherlock Homes novels, via audiobook, reviewed here.

The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd, first book in the Prydain Chronicles, reviewed here.

I will Repay by Baroness Orzcy, part of The Scarlet Pimpernel series, via audiobook primarily, reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser

On Stories by C. S. Lewis

Gospel Meditations for the Hurting by Chris Anderson and Joe Tyrpak

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, audiobook.

Next up:

Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung, Ted Kluck, and David F. Wells. This will finish my TBR Challenge list. Woot! Unless I do the alternates, which I’d like to do, but I’m going to take a break from this list and read some other things that have stacked up in the meantime.

Undetected by Dee Henderson

I also did a fun little A-Z Bookish Questionnaire if you’d like to look in or maybe try it yourself.

Happy reading!

11 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2014

  1. I hope to read Women of the Word soon. I have Just Jane on my reading list this month, too!:) I actually edited it in when I heard about “Austen in August”. It seemed like the perfect time to finally read it.

  2. So we both had a top ten book of the year in our list.:) Sometimes you just know when a book is that good. I haven’t heard of that C.S. Lewis book; will look forward to what you’ll share about it.

    As soon (and if!) I finish Les Miserables, I’ll be done with my TBR list too. I still have an alternate left, which I would like to knock out, but I think I’ll take another trip to the library first and read some other things.

  3. of course this would come while I was on a break! oh well, not much to report anyway. I too am reading Just Jane. Enjoying it. Hope you are. Light, just what I need right now. Looks like you have had a good month of reading!

  4. My daughter is reading Sherlock Holmes…again. She so enjoys Holmes. The Book of Three by Lloyd is a great read, isn’t it? The audio book of it is enjoyable as well.

    How is Just Jane? My oldest daughter just finished a biography of Austen and found it very enjoyable.

  5. I’m wondering about Just Jane as well … and I am curious about the “Why We are Not Emergent” book too … you always have an interesting looking stack:)

  6. Pingback: Austen in August Challenge | Stray Thoughts

  7. At first, when I saw The Sign of the Four and The Book of Three, I thought you’d put them in the wrong order – it took me a moment to realize the two were wholly unconnected:-)

    I’ve read Just Jane but don’t remember anything about. Why We are Not Emergent, on the other hand, was a book I definitely appreciated – both for familiarizing me with the emergent movement (which has since started to fade, I think) and for introducing me to DeYoung and Kluck. I’ve since read a few more books by one or the other of them.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

