Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends. Here are some of the favorite parts of the past week or so:

1. Online registries. We’ve had a lot of bridal showers, weddings, and baby showers at church the last few months. I love registries so that I can get the person something they want rather than providing their first yard sale fodder. I especially like that most store registries can be accessed online now. It helps a lot to be able to look them over and pick out a couple of ideas beforehand instead of roaming all over the store first.

2. Hummingbirds. We just put a feeder put a few weeks ago and hadn’t had any visitors. But just recently we saw that the level of nectar had gone down, and more recently we’ve seen a little visitor. They are so amazing to watch.

3. A new cell phone. My phone had been having trouble making or keeping a charge, so my husband took it in, and evidently it had a lot of dust in it – more than they could clean out by their usual methods. 😦 But it was under warranty, so they gave me a new one, and now I am trying to take special care to keep dust out of it. I usually keep it in my pocket, which seems to produce a lot of very fine lint. Just saw online recently some silicone plugs for the various ports in a phone, so may look into those. Anyone tried them?

4. A husband who deals with issues like phone troubles. 🙂 Dealing with the “genius bar” is not one of his favorite things, but I appreciate his going there for me.

5. A volunteer. We had made plans to go to Jason and Mittu’s tomorrow for his birthday (which is actually today), but got word that Great-Grandma’s weekend caregiver would not be available this weekend. Her weekday caregiver volunteered to come on Saturday since she knew we had plans. Much appreciated!

Hope you have a great weekend!

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Great sentence!! Love it!! “I love registries so that I can get the person something they want rather than providing their first yard sale fodder. “

  2. I love registries too! Makes it much easier 🙂

    I haven’t heard of silicone plugs, sorry. Good luck with your new phone Phones can be a pain.

    I love hummingbirds, I wish I had a feeder!

  3. I’m so glad that you have had some hummingbirds at your feeder recently! They are amazing to watch. Also glad that your phone was still under warranty and was replaced. Have a wonderful weekend, Barbara.

  4. We love watching the hummingbirds here too. They can become quite tame – I’ve seen pictures of people holding them but I haven’t. I have had a chickadee land on my hand though. that was awesome.

    Glad you got a new phone under warranty. I’ve cracked mine but I don’t think that’s covered 😦 it still works so it’s fine

    That was so nice of your volunteer to step in so that you could make it to the birthday – hope you have a great time!

  5. Wow, how nice of that caregiver to put in extra hours so that you could still continue with your weekend plans!

    I have never heard of dust in cell phones causing problems. I learn something every day. Glad yours was covered under warranty. And I, too, appreciate a hubby who deals with techy issues. I’d be totally lost without his help.

    Happy birthday to Jason!

  6. It’s nice when modern conveniences turn out to be …convenient! Happy birthday to Jason — so good that you could celebrate together. I was at a friend’s house where all the birds know she puts out quite a spread. The hummingbird feeder was half full when I arrived and empty by the end of the day! Soon, you’ll have more visitors as they find you 🙂

  7. You learn something new every day … I didn’t know dust could be an issue with cell phones! I bet mine has a lot in it, LOL.

    What a generous caregiver to help you with your plans. May she receive a special blessing!

    I like the idea of online registries, too.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

