A-Z Bookish Questionnaire

booksflr

I saw this at Carrie‘s, who saw it at Amy‘s, and thought it looked like fun. All links behind book titles are to my reviews.

Author you’ve read the most books from: Probably Elisabeth Elliot.

Best sequel ever: I had to sit and think about this one for a long time. I don’t know if I’d say this is the best sequel ever, but I do like the sequels of the Mitford books, especially In This Mountain.  It’s not quite as light and cheery as the others, because Father Tim struggles with retirement, his wife’s fame while his work (and importance, so he thinks) seems to be declining, depression, and a serious setback with his diabetes. But I love how he works through it and comes out of it. Then again, I also like the sequels to the Narnia series, Little Women, the Little House books, Anne of Green Gables (especially the book of the first year of Anne’s marriage), and others.

Currently reading: Just Jane by Nancy Moser (a fictionalized account of Jane Austen’s life), How to Read Slowly by James W. Sire, Women of the Word by Jen Wilkens, and listening to The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes via audiobook.

Drink of choice while reading: Decaf coffee or Decaf Diet Coke.

E-reader or physical book? I prefer physical books, but now that I have gotten used to using the Kindle app for my iPad mini, I enjoy it, too. Can’t beat the free or inexpensive books for it – my library has grown exponentially.

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school: Hmm. I don’t usually think of the characters I read about in that way, and so far I’m not coming up with anyone high school or college age that I would have been interested in back then. Except maybe Laurie in Little Women as played by Christian Bale in the film – though he really wasn’t my type.

Glad you gave this book a chance: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. I read descriptions about several of his books, but they just didn’t sound interesting to me. But when so many who read a different book of his for Carrie’s Classic Book Club loved it, I thought maybe I should give him a chance. Loved this and plan to read more in the future.

Hidden gem book: Five Little Peppers and How They Grew. It’s been a long time since I’ve read it and I probably should again, but it was rather a plain book that I didn’t know anything about when I started, but I loved it.

Just finished: I Will Repay by Baronness Orczy and The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer.

Kinds of books you won’t read: Anything sexually explicit or with too much bad language, horror books, mysteries that are creepy or too scary.

Longest book you’ve read: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. All 1440+ pages of the unabridged version.

Major book hangover because of: I’m not sure what a book hangover is supposed to be. If it means one that continues to impact or speak to you after you’ve read it, that would be the Bible.

Number of bookcases you own: 3 tall ones, 2 short ones, and I have at least 4 boxes of books in closets.

One book you have read multiple times. Oh, my. Many, for many reasons. If I had to choose just one….well, let’s make it one nonfiction and one fiction. 🙂 Fiction: Little Women – fun to read at different stages of life and see it through different characters. Nonfiction, besides the Bible: Through Gates of Splendor.

Preferred place to read: Sitting sideways on the couch in the family room.

Quote that you like, from a book you’ve read: Oh my, again. I usually have multiple quotes marked in every book. To go with a recent one: “I believe there is scarcely an error in doctrine or a failure in applying Christian ethics that cannot be traced finally to imperfect and ignoble thoughts about God,” A. W. Tozer in The Knowledge of the Holy.

Reading regret: The only book that comes to mind that I have regretted reading (I think that’s what this question is asking) is one that we picked up at a library visit when my kids were little. When my son asked about it, I just felt a check in my spirit about it, but we got it anyway. When I looked at it when we got home, it was a pretty awful (both in writing and in subject) New Age book encouraging kids to disobey and drop everything they’d ever believed, complete with a “spirit guide” coauthor who had his own afterword in the back. 😦 It did open up a discussion with the one son who had shown interest in it. The only others that just came to mind were some unsavory ones my dad had around the house in my preteen years (he was not a Christian at the time and I wasn’t yet, either). 😦 It pays to be careful what you read, because those things do come back to your mind.

Series you started and need to finish: The Mysterious Benedict Society, Sherlock Holmes (working on the latter.)

Three of your all-time favorite books: This is another hard one. I’m going to invoke my executive privilege as owner of this blog and name 3 nonfiction and 3 fiction. 🙂 Aside from the Bible and the ones I mentioned before as having read multiple times, By Searching by Isobel Kuhn, Climbing by Rosalind Goforth, Evidence Not Seen by Darlene Deibler Rose. For fiction: Jane Eyre, Les Miserables, and A Tale of Two Cities.

Unapologetic fangirl for: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series, especially the audiobooks read by Katherine Kellgren. Clever writing, rollicking good fun, but not without some pathos. I hope, when the series ends and we finally find out how the children got left in the woods to be raised by wolves and what their connection is to some others in the story, that it’s not going to be something I’d have a problem with.

Very excited for this release more than all the others: Besides the next in the above-mentioned Ashton Place series (I don’t know when it might be), a new one in Jan Karon’s Mitford series due out in September: Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good.

Worst bookish habit: My husband would probably say buying and keeping too many books. 🙂 I honestly can’t think of one. I like to take good care of them. Unless it’s the urge to get ahead of the story, but I generally don’t like to read or skip ahead any more. I like to read it as it unfolds even if it drags a bit in places.

X marks the spot: If this means bookmarks, I tend to use just whatever scrap of paper is at hand, though I have some nice bookmarks in my desk drawer (I just don’t think to go get them). If it refers to marking quotes or points I want to remember, I use the little Post-it notes sticky tab strips. But I do mark my books with a pencil as well – most of them, anyway.

Your latest book purchase: Physical book: Women of the Word by Jen Wilkins; Kindle app: Hidden Places by Lynn Austin.

Zzz snatcher book: If this means a book that has kept me awake reading it – it has been a while since that happened. I tend to fall asleep if I read past bedtime. But the ones with the potential to are Dee Henderson’s books, the last one being Unspoken. I’ve got her newest one on my shelf but have been trying to save it as a reward after I finish some of my reading challenge lists.

Let me know if you do this, and I’ll come by and see what you have to say.

10 thoughts on “A-Z Bookish Questionnaire

  1. It WAS a hard meme. Took me a lot longer to write it out as well. Some of those questions really make you stop and think and I grinned that you took executive privileges of this blog to mention more than one of your all-time favorite books! 😀

    Thanks again for getting me hooked on The Incorrigibles. Most fun!

  2. I love reading all your answers, Barbara. It’s always interesting to me to see how other people read, and how other people can love books as much as I do! 🙂 I’m encouraged at your mentioning Les Miserables as one of your favorites since I hope to start that one soon, and I’m scared, to be honest. ha.

  3. Fun! You mention quite a few I’ve never read. I started listening to The Five Little Peppers in audio but didn’t get much past tre first paragraph before I was interrupted and I never got back to it. I’ll have to remember how much you like it! I’m definitely going to keep this post in mind if I’m ever in need of inspiration!

  4. Hi Barbara! I love seeing the spelling of your name. That my mother’s name.

    Years ago I saw Elisabeth Elliot in person..quite a woman.

    I just could not get into the Mitford series. I gave my books away.

    A lot of the books you mention are new to me.
    `How to read slowly` looks interesting.
    I have `How to Read a Book` (Mortimer Adler)
    It is a difficult book to read.
    However, based on your books, I thing you might like it.

    I love my Kindle, esp. when I am traveling.
    I also enjoy reading physical books.

    I’ve seen mention of book hangover on other blogs. I’m wondering what it is.

    I did this questionnaire also.
    You may find it here:
    http://newhorizonreviews.blogspot.com/2014/07/a-z-bookish-questionnaire.html

  5. I first read Five Little Peppers as a little kid. There are sequels too; our local library in the small town where I grew up carried them. Our family frequented that place weekly. When my husband and I had kids, I bought a few of the Peppers books for them.

  6. Women and the Word has sounded very good to me but I haven’t been able to get it the Christian book store and just haven’t bothered to order it. I’ll be watching for your review.

  7. Hello,

    We are a not-for-profit educational organization founded by Mortimer Adler and we have recently made an exciting discovery—three years after writing the wonderfully expanded third edition of How to Read a Book, Mortimer Adler and Charles Van Doren made a series of thirteen 14-minute videos—lively discussing the art of reading. The videos were produced by Encyclopaedia Britannica. For reasons unknown, sometime after their original publication, these videos were lost.

    Three hours with Mortimer Adler and Charles Van Doren, lively discussing the art of reading, on one DVD. A must for all readers, libraries and classroom teaching the art of reading.

    I cannot exaggerate how instructive these programs are—we are so sure that you will agree, if you are not completely satisfied, we will refund your donation.

    Please go here to see a clip and learn more:

    http://www.thegreatideas.org/HowToReadABook.htm

    ISBN: 978-1-61535-311-8

    Thank you,

    Max Weismann, Co-founder with Dr. Adler

  8. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: July 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  9. Pingback: Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

