Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Here are some highlights of my week:

1. Finally getting a haircut. Nothing new or different – I just tend to wait way beyond the time it needs to be shaped up to the point that it cooperates even less than it does normally. It just tends to continually be a low priority in my schedule. But I am glad I made time to get it done.

2. A fun wedding. We have three weddings scheduled at our church this summer. The first one was last weekend, between two of my son’s closest friends. I know fun isn’t a word one usually uses with weddings, but this one was, beginning with the groom and groomsmen all wearing matching tennis shoes. πŸ™‚ There were, of course, appropriate moments of solemnity as well.

3. Great-Grandma’s 86th birthday was Wednesday. It was pretty low-key – she can’t do much. But she enjoyed it, especially Jim reading her cards to her, singing along as we sang “Happy Birthday,” and Face-timing with little Timothy.

4. Independence Day. America is far from perfect, but I love it and am happy to celebrate its birthday! Plus it’s really nice that it falls on a Friday this year. One neighbor has organized a neighborhood potluck, so I am looking forward to that. We might even try to get Great-Grandma into her wheelchair to come to it for a while.

5. Timothy’s “Welcome Home” video. I mentioned last week that my little grandson was finally able to come home after 10 and 1/2 weeks in the NICU. My son, Jason, made a little video to announce it. So sweet – I’ve watched it several times.

Happy Friday, and Happy 4th of July to my fellow Americans!

fourth2

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I totally get where your coming from…
    I get my hair colored when it really needs it.
    That means about every 4 months.

    Happy Birthday to your Great-Grandma and Happy Birthday America!

  2. Looking forward to watching the video πŸ™‚ You remind me that I need to schedule a trim myself. Good things to celebrate this week — enjoy your neighborhood get together!

  3. That’s the sweetest video – so glad your little grandson is finally home!! What a blessing! A belated but very Happy Birthday wish to Great-Grandma. And a Happy 4th of July to you and yours. Hope you have lots of fun at the neighbourhood potluck. What a nice way to celebrate.

  4. Tennis shoes for a wedding why not ? My son’s wedding was so funny that I didn’t even have the time for a tear ! We all laughed from the beginning til the end. My friend who was with me on my trip is already Great Grandma with 71 !

  5. How exciting for Timothy coming home! I haven’t been on the blogs too much this week so missed that news. And how fitting that he should go home on his actual due date! Such a sweet video. I had a good chuckle at the end where the “movie” credits are and all the “Me” came up.

  6. OH! I just love watching the “He’s HOME” video! I loved watching M give him a bath and J walk in in the front door. So sweet and so special. Hurray!! He’s home! πŸ™‚

    When weddings are fun they are fun indeed!

    By the way, I’ve been using Blog Lovin’ per your suggestion but sometimes I get your posts out of order or a day late or something. Not sure why that is but if I comment in a weird order – that would be why! Sometimes I don’t realize it’s out of order until I’m skimming backwards from your home page.

  7. The video is just wonderful. Timothy is darling! I smiled all the way through and when he smiled, mine grew bigger. He is a beautiful baby.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

