What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2014

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Since last time I have completed:

Loving the Church by John Crotts, reviewed here.

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky via audiobook, reviewed here. This is the August selection for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club list, if you want to try to give it a whirl before then. 🙂

Wow, not very much, considering one was an audiobook! Not sure what happened to my reading time in June.

I’m currently reading:

The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd, first book in the Prydain Chronicles.

The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer

How to Read Slowly: Reading for Comprehension by James W. Sire. Not that I want to actually decrease my reading speed or that I have problems with comprehension, but I’d like to retain more of what I read, so I am hoping this will help.

The Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, second of the Sherlock Homes novels, via audiobook.

Next up:

Why We Are Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung, Ted Kluck, and David F. Wells

Undetected by Dee Henderson

I will Repay by Baroness Orzcy, part of The Scarlet Pimpernel series

Possibly Girl in the Gatehouse by Julie Klassen and Just Jane: A Novel of Jane Austen’s Life by Nancy Moser, two of my alternates from the TBR Challenge list, rather than the one remaining nonfiction book I have left there. The nonfiction has been beneficial, but I am missing stories. 🙂

Carrie’s  Chronicles of Narnia Reading Challenge. is in July, but I haven’t decided whether I’ll do anything for it yet. I finished the Narnia series last year and am not ready to start it over again. There are several Narnia-related non-fiction books I’d like to read, but I am reading so much other non-fiction this year I am not feeling inspired at the moment to choose another one. I hate to miss out on it, though, as I have participated for the last few years, so I may decide to jump in before it’s over.

What have you been reading?

7 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: June 2014

  1. The book about reading slowly sounds interesting — like you, I wish I retained what I read better. At times I wonder if it’s because I read so much, at other times I wonder if it’s … sigh … age. Have you watched the PBS Sherlock series? My girls and I have recently discovered it and enjoy it. I’m wondering how the books compare.

  2. I think you are quite justified in your “not much” reading this month. Although you still manage to make me feel behind – since I just picked up The Brother’s Karamozov yesterday.

    I understand the lure of stories. I love nonfiction and definitely read quite a bit of it; but sometimes I just need a novel.

  3. How to Read Slowly–I love reading books about reading. 🙂 I’ll look forward to what you’ll say about it. Sometimes I have to intentionally tell myself to slow down when I read. I think online reading has fostered a bad habit of skimming; I don’t want to transfer that to book reading.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

