Friday’s Fave Five

FFF spring2

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

This has been a difficult week, primarily processing the totally unexpected news that our pastor has cancer and a prognosis of 6-12 months to live.

We were also hoping that my grandson, Timothy, might be able to come home from the NICU after going almost a full week with no bradycardia episodes – but then he has had a few more this week, so that means a longer waiting time: they want him to go 5-7 days without one before they release him. One doctor had said he should outgrow them around 37 weeks (gestational age), but that came and went. Otherwise he’s doing great, so it’s just a matter of waiting for his system to mature enough. He’s been in the hospital over 9 weeks so far.

With grief on the one hand and disappointment in a couple of areas on the other, it has been a teary, weary week. Yet it is a good exercise to look for blessings large and small whether the week has seemed good, bad, or mediocre.

1. An outpouring of love and support. After our pastor’s news was made public, his Facebook page plus our church’s was flooded with promises of prayer and expressions of love. Plus it has been a blessing to see the different verses, hymns, or thoughts different church members have shared trough the week that have been a help to them.

2. My pastor’s message where he announced the news of his cancer. It might sound strange to list that as a favorite of the week. The news was not a favorite, no, but the message was one of the best I’ve ever heard and just what we needed. If you can make the time, I’d encourage you to listen to it. It’s real and raw emotionally and hard in some ways, but it was a model in how to deal with devastating news spiritually.

3. A thoughtful gift. One of my blog friends sent a little gift for Timothy this week. I neglected to ask her if she minded if I mentioned her or showed a picture, so I’ll refrain for now, but her thoughtfulness was a bright spot in the week.

4. Hydrangeas. I planted a small hydrangea bush two years ago and I think this is the first time I have seen blooms on it except maybe a few small ones. I didn’t get a picture because they’re on the back of the plant facing the wall – but hopefully this is a sign there are more to come!

5. Surgery avoided. One of my sisters in TX had to go to the hospital yesterday with extreme pain due to what they think is a bulging disk in her back. They thought she might need surgery but decided to try IV steroids first.

Favorites this and every week are the bedrock truths that no matter what happens, God is real, He loves us, His promises are true, His will is good.

I hope however your week has gone that you’ll be able to trace God’s hand of blessing in it.

(P.S. I can’t believe I forgot to mention Father’s Day completely until I saw it on another FFF list! It seems like much longer ago than this week! But we always enjoy getting to shower my husband with a few tokens of our love and to have the whole family together [one via FaceTime] for a visit.)

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. oh Barbara I am very sorry to hear about your pastor. I’m going to click on your link and I will definitely keep him in prayer. In fact, I will get my small group to pray for him as we are also prayiing for the brother of one of my friend’s who is dealing with stomach cancer. It is so hard. Praise the Lord we can be united in prayer for these concerns. that is so nice of your blogging friend to get the baby a gift and yay for your sister avoiding surgery!! I hope you have a restful weekend.

  2. I have prayed for your pastor several times this week. My father in law died of pancreatic cancer about a decade ago, and probably because of that, I’m more aware now of people getting it. I listened to his sermon too — what a wonderful man of God he seems to be! I am sorry about your little grandson too. How disappointing for all the family! Prayers that he will be able to come home soon.

  3. Cancer is terrible, I still don’t understand why we are able to go to the moon but unable to find an adequate medication ! Some more patience and your little grandson will be home !

  4. I too forgot to mention father’s day! Oh it seems like it was weeks ago! Yes you can share the pictures and whatever else you feel. Glad it was a bright spot for you. Sounds like our week has been similar. Praying for you, your pastor and Timothy!

  5. Barb, I am so sorry for your pastor’s diagnosis. LIfting him in prayer before the Lord! And praying for your little Timothy, too! May he come home real soon! What perfect timing for that gift. Bloggy friends are blessings. Thanks for still taking the time to look for God’s imprint of blessing in your week even though it was a hard one. May next week be better.

  6. Barb, I’m sorry for your weepy week and your pastor’s diagnosis. Kudos to you for such a great list of faves in a weary week!

    Hard to say how we are blessed in our trials, by our grateful attitude and faith in God’s perfect care of His children in the midst of it all. Thanks for being a blessing by sharing, Barb, and for stopping by my blog this week. ~Joyce

  7. Cancer is such a traitor. My uncle died of brain cancer this week; burial tomorrow. Hope your grandson comes home soon. Thanks for your fine outlook of your week. I was blessed by it.

  8. Will pray for your pastor – in many ways, it brings back painful memories for me because of what a dear friend went through with similar experience. I am still trying to come to terms with what happened…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

