How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

I was sorting through and organizing some quotes I have from Elisabeth Elliot this afternoon, and this one jumped out at me, so I thought I’d share it with you. This is from her book A Lamp For My Feet, but I think I originally saw it when her e-mail devotionals were sent out by Back to the Bible.

How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

Certain aspects of the job the Lord has given me to do are very easy to postpone. I make excuses, find other things that take precedence, and, when I finally get down to business to do it, it is not always with much grace. A new perspective has helped me recently:

The job has been given to me to do.
Therefore it is a gift.
Therefore it is a privilege.
Therefore it is an offering I may make to God.
Therefore it is to be done gladly, if it is done for Him.
Therefore it is the route to sanctity.

Here, not somewhere else, I may learn God’s way. In this job, not in some other, God looks for faithfulness. The discipline of this job is, in fact, the chisel God has chosen to shape me with–into the image of Christ.

Thank you, Lord, for the work You have assigned me. I take it as your gift; I offer it back to you. With your help I will do it gladly, faithfully, and I will trust You to make me holy.

3 thoughts on “How to Do the Job You Don’t Really Want To Do

  1. I loved this quote, Barbara! When I’m feeling “down” about something I will often get out one of Elisabeth’s books and begin reading. She is such a forthright person and the Lord normally has just what I need when I pick up one of her books! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Barbara, I wanted to come back here this morning (Friday) and thank you for sharing that Elisabeth Elliot quote! It helped me get some jobs done this morning that I have been putting off and putting off! Now I can go do my weekly marketing, knowing that the house is in order! Thanks for the inspiration!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

