Friday’s Fave Five

 It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

Since this is where I’ve been sharing updates about my little grandson, Timothy, I’ll go ahead and share this here. He had a bit of a setback this week with a higher number of heart-rate drops (bradycardia) and apnea than before, and some pretty deep ones (requiring more than just jostling him to bring it back up to normal), so they put the oxygen cannula back on. He had a couple of tests earlier in the week and those may have tired him out too much. I’m not sure how much longer he’ll have to have the oxygen. The doctors have said that usually by 36 or 37 weeks from conception the heart rate drops will start to fade out as his system matures, and we just passed the 36 week mark. Then he’ll have to go for 5-7 days without one (we’ve heard different numbers from different doctors) before he can go home. The first neonatal doctor we talked to told us this would be a journey of ups and downs rather than steady upward progress, but the downs are still discouraging. But — hopefully he’ll be ready to come home soon. Every day is one step closer. 🙂

1. Stability. After everything else this week, Timothy is holding steady now, and we hope he can come off the oxygen soon.

2. This:

IMG_7359

I got to hold him for the first time. 🙂 I thought I couldn’t until he got out of the NICU, but when they offered, I said yes!

3. Paying it forward. When I stopped to get my weekly pass for the hospital parking lot, the attendant told me someone had “paid forward” a weekly pass for the next person who needed one. That’s the first time anything like that has ever happened to me, and it was a blessing.

4. Pitching in. Last weekend Jason and Mittu were expecting company and needed a few little things done around the house before they came. Their guest bed had broken when they moved plus they’d ordered the crib but hadn’t had a chance to put it together, plus with recovering from childbirth and then spending time at the hospital, they were understandably behind on some things. Jim, Jesse, and I went over last Saturday morning so they could help put things together and I could help with whatever else needed to be done. I had originally thought I wouldn’t be able to go because Grandma’s (I guess I should say Great-Grandma now!) caregiver was going out of town, but that turned out to be the next weekend. It was fun to be able to help in a concrete way and to do it all together. Plus they ordered pizza when we were done. 🙂

5. A four day weekend. Monday was Memorial Day and Jim took Friday off, too.

Hope you have a great weekend!

13 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Oh Barbara I”m so happy for you..that you got to hold your (first?) grandson!! I will lift him up in prayer…..What a sweet little face. I’m thankful when family pitches in to help out…that IS a huge blessing. And how wonderful that someone “paid it forward” for you! Enjoy the weekend.

  2. That’s so wonderful that you could hold your little grandson. Praying that God will strengthen his little body. That was such a great story about someone paying your parking. Love it. Glad that you could put many hands together to help the new parents get things ready for company…

  3. These up and downs must be awful for the young parents too ! He looks so nice and “grown up” in your arms and what a lot of hairs. I hope he will stabilize soon and can come home !

  4. I sure know all you family is going through. We helped our daughter for 2 months going back and forth to hospital to be with her daughter that was taken prematurely because she was not growing. We were so fortunate as the baby had no problems except to have to grow. She is now in 2nd grade and a very energetic young lady. So hang in there.

  5. Awww, I’m praying for your little grandson and all the family. My first was in NICU for about 3 days (jaundice), and I remember how stressful it was hanging out there all day, wondering when she could go home, etc. The photo of you and him is adorable!

  6. Oh what joy to finally get to hold that precious babe! I’m glad you were able to capture a picture. May his little body continue to strengthen and that home date be soon! What a sweet blessing to have a week of parking pass forward to you.

  7. Made me tear up to see you holding him! Awww! I totally understand the being able to help in a concrete way thang…It is such a blessing to be the giver. Happy for you and continuing to pray!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

