What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2014

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

Oh wow – I was totally caught off guard for the Nightstand post this month. That’s more likely in months like this when there are five Thursdays, but I think I have an especially good excuse for being distracted since the premature birth of my little grandson. 🙂 Anyway – here is the super-quick version:

Since last time I have completed:

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell, reviewed here.

Bleak House by Charles Dickens via audiobook, reviewed here.

Made to Crave Action Plan Participant’s Guide by Lysa TerKeurst and Ski Chilton, reviewed here.

My Man Jeeves by P. D. Wodehouse for Carrie’s Reading to Know Classics Book Club April selection, review coming soon.

The Seamstress: A Memoir of Survival by Sara Tuvel Bernstein via audiobook, reviewed coming soon here.

I’m currently reading:

The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club for March. Yes, March. 😳 I just haven’t been inclined to pick this one up very much, but I am almost done.

Wednesdays Were Pretty Normal: A Boy, Cancer, and God by Michael Kelley

Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis, a reread that I enjoyed it the first time but am getting much more from now.

Courageous by Randy Alcorn (audiobook).

Next up:

The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis

The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd, first book in the Prydain Chronicles.

I think I am going to skip the May and June selections from Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club, just because I have so many other books to get to, but I may get an early start on July’s choice of The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I have a feeling that one will take a good while. 🙂

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2014

  1. I don’t know how you managed to get so much read! Way to go Barbara! With the season change I have taken a more relaxed approach so as not to stress out if I don’t meet my expections each month. When the summer heat kicks in I will get more reading time again (I hope). Happy reading! and still praying!

  2. It’s nice to know you’ll be reading The Brothers K at the same time. 🙂 It was a little confusing to me at first but it gets easier. (Plus I cheat with Cliff Notes). I also am listening to some of it via audio CD’s and they are marvelous.

  3. That’s lots of reading! I really enjoyed Bleak House. It was interesting to see how Dickens could pull seemingly unrelated people and events together. I must add The Brothers K to my reading list. I keep seeing it mentioned everywhere.

  4. You inspire me to read more CS Lewis … I do like him — he makes me think. I’ll have to read your Bleak House review. I read Great Expectations a year or so back and, sadly, didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

