Friday’s Fave Five

 It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends. Here are five favorite parts of the last week:

1. Safe travels for my son and daughter-in-law as they went to OK to visit her mom and attend a couple of baby showers folks were throwing for them. They had a little accident when someone scraped their car passing in a parking lot, but thankfully it wasn’t major and didn’t jolt the car enough to hurt anyone.

2. Baby things. It has been fun perusing my daughter-in-law’s baby registries and seeing all the cute things. I am looking forward to seeing what they got for their showers! I enjoyed receiving a video from my son showing us their new stroller/car seat combo – it was fun to see how excited he was about it. 🙂

3. Nice temperatures. When I’ve been out and about this week, the weather has been sunny and the temperatures a little on the cool side but not so much as to need a sweater – my favorite.

4. New schedule working out well. We had to cut back my mother-in-law’s caregiver’s hours so as to manage my mother-in-law’s finances better, and also because there was not enough for the caregiver to do to justify paying for 9 hours a day. That means those hours the caregiver is no longer working fall to me. I’m having to watch the clock a bit to try to get my errands done while she’s here, and in some ways I feel a little more tied down, but I’ve been surprised at how nice it feels to have the house to myself more.

5. Losing 6 lbs. over the last few months. Woot! I’ve just been changing one thing at a time (beginning exercising regularly, cutting back on sweets), and there are many more measures I need to take, but it has been encouraging to see some results just from what I have done so far.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Good job on the weight loss! Those little changes make a big difference when they are kept up and doing them like that it’s easier to make them permanent. I’ve lost a bit too and am excited to keep going.

    Enjoy looking at those sweet baby things. Such an exciting time for your family!

  2. I’m glad you could review the caregiving schedule and find one that still works for your family.

    Congrats on the weight loss — it’s so encouraging to see results of purposeful effort.

  3. Congratulations on your weight loss – I’m working on the same!

    Glad to hear the new schedule is working out for you and your mil.

    Everything baby is such fun! Especially the first 🙂

    Happy weekend!

  4. Good for you on the weight loss!!! Congrats and keep it up. I too am trying to cut back on sweets…oh how I love my homemade brownies. I think I will have more success when my youngest is at college in 3 years because thin simply won’t bake!!! 😛

    I hope you enjoy every minute leading up to the birth of your grandchild…..it’s an exciting time following a pregnancy,

    Enjoy your weekend!!

  5. Awwww – I feel warm and fuzzy reading about the baby excitement! If you are planning to make a quilt for your grandson, I have a pattern I can send you by Bunny Hill Designs. 🙂 I came across it today, and thought of you…

  6. Yay, on the weight loss results. Always a favorite!

    It is so fun to watch our children get ready to welcome those grands, isn’t it? I’ve been having fun this week with my daughter looking at all the stuff she is collecting. Next week is the shower we are giving her. I can’t wait.

    Sorry, you are more tied down, but having the house to yourself for more hours is a good thing.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

