Booking Through Thursday: Rereading

btt  button Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme which poses a question or a thought for participants to discuss centering on the subject of books or reading.

Today’s question has to do with rereading:

I’ve asked before if you re-read your books (feel free to recap), but right now I want to know if that habit has changed? Did you, for example, reread more as a child and your access to new books was limited by how often you could convince your mother to take you to the library? Has the economy affected your access so that you’re forced to reread more often now? Have you grown to look at old books as old friends so that you’re happy to spend time with them rather than rushing the next new thing?

I don’t remember whether I reread much as a child, though I imagine I did with a few favorite books. I don’t think the economy has had much effect on rereading: if I couldn’t afford new books, there are hundreds through the library. But I do reread some books, for several reasons:

1. It is like a visit with an old friend, much like listening to the same music, rewatching a movie, telling the same stories at family gatherings. It’s cozy, comfortable, and familiar.

2. It’s hard to get everything from most books the first time through. To me the best books are those I can revisit many times and still gain something from.

3. It’s hard to remember everything we got from the first read, especially (for me) with nonfiction.

4. It reinforces what I learned from the book before.

5. I identify with different characters or parts of the book differently at different stages. Little Women is a classic example: I identified with different ones of the girls as a child and young teenager; as a young wife I identified with Meg; as an older mom I saw Marmee through new eyes (and the girls, too, for that matter, looking on them from a mother’s point of view rather than as friends.)

6. It can be just plain fun to revisit a story.

The problem is that there are so many enticing new books to choose from that it is hard to make the decision to reread an old one. Sometimes with nonfiction I choose to reread because I need those lessons or that information again. But with fiction, audiobooks are a great way to revisit books. Although I do listen to new books that way, I can tend to miss something from them if I can’t hit the replay button (like when I am driving or cooking). But that’s not so much an issue with a familiar book. Plus by listening I don’t feel like the old book, especially if it is an old, longer classic, is monopolizing so much of my reading time. And hearing it read can bring out facets I may have missed in my own reading.

Here is a list I made a few years ago of books I have reread and would like to reread. I’m happy to say I have reread many from the latter list since then, most via audiobook.

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Rereading

  1. I do a lot of re-reading. Usually, they’re the books I enjoyed the first time around. Years have passed, and I want to read them again. Sometimes, I have recently seen a movie based on the book, and I want to read the book again in order to evaluate the movie. Thanks to Kindle, I always have a supply of new books on hand. But, before that marvelous invention, my books on paper were all I had–live in Spain–and they got read over and over. I especially enjoy books of short stories and short novels. I can pick them up and read them before bed at night. The book I re-read the most, though, is the Bible. It is the only living Book! Interesting post, Barbara. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: What’s On Your Nightstand: March 2014 | Stray Thoughts

  3. I had a couple series of books as a child that I reread over and over. I just loved them. Every once in a while I do a summer of rereads now so that I can revisit some favorites off my bookshelves.

  4. Pingback: A-Z Bookish Questionnaire | Stray Thoughts

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

