Jesus, I Am Resting

This hymn has been on my mind for a couple of weeks. We used to sing it in church quite a bit but I haven’t heard it in years. I was going to post it last week, but then went with another one instead.

Now this hymn is especially poignant to me today as a young wife and mother in our church passed away suddenly and unexpectedly Saturday morning from heart failure in response to a catastrophic reaction to some kind of medication. We’re all stunned and saddened, I just ache for the husband and two young children left behind. I just can’t fathom how he was able to tell their children that Mommy is gone and the many ways this will affect them all in the days ahead. Only by God’s grace, which I am asking Him for them.

But I’m also comforted by the words to this song. We rest in Him by faith: now she is doing so by sight. I can only imagine what that is like.

Jesus, I am resting, resting,
In the joy of what Thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.
Thou hast bid me gaze upon Thee,
And Thy beauty fills my soul,
For by Thy transforming power,
Thou hast made me whole.

O, how great Thy loving kindness,
Vaster, broader than the sea!
O, how marvelous Thy goodness,
Lavished all on me!
Yes, I rest in Thee, Belovèd,
Know what wealth of grace is Thine,
Know Thy certainty of promise,
And have made it mine.

Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,
I behold Thee as Thou art,
And Thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart;
Satisfies its deepest longings,
Meets, supplies its every need,
Compasseth me round with blessings:
Thine is love indeed!

Ever lift Thy face upon me
As I work and wait for Thee;
Resting ’neath Thy smile, Lord Jesus,
Earth’s dark shadows flee.
Brightness of my Father’s glory,
Sunshine of my Father’s face,
Keep me ever trusting, resting,
Fill me with Thy grace.

~ Jean S. Pig­ott, 1876.

Though I have always liked the old tune, I really like this new version as sung by the Steve Pettit Evangelistic Team on their CD, If Eyes Could See.

2 thoughts on “Jesus, I Am Resting

  1. Pingback: Rest in Jesus | SusieQ's Samplings

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

