What’s On Your Nightstand: February 2014

What's On Your NightstandThe folks at 5 Minutes For Books host What’s On Your Nightstand? the fourth Tuesday of each month in which we can share about the books we have been reading and/or plan to read.

For a short month, this February sure has seemed like a long one! The Olympics impinged on my reading time a bit, but that’s okay.

Since last time I have completed:

Ida Scudder: Healing Bodies, Touching Hearts by Janet and Geoff Benge, reviewed here.

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, reviewed here.

I’m currently reading:

Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire With God, Not Food by Lisa TerKeurst along with a online Bible study using Made to Crave hosted by Proverbs 31 Ministries. Should be finished with that by the end of the week.

Walking From East to West: God in the Shadows by Ravi Zacharias

Crowded to Christ by L. E. Maxwell

Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder for my Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge and for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club. Almost done!

Bleak House by Charles Dickens via audiobook.

Next up:

The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge for Carrie’s  Reading to Know Classics Book Club. I have never read Goudge but have heard good things from those who have.

The House Is Quiet, Now What? Rediscovering Life and Adventure As a Empty Nester by Janice Hanna and Kathleen Y’Barbo.

The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis

I’m longing for a couple of Christian fiction books waiting patiently for me on the book shelf, but I feel I should chip away at the books I’ve decided on for the various reading challenges I’ve signed up for first. But maybe, if I get all the ones listed here done, I’ll take a break with one of them.

Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: February 2014

  1. I’ve still not read Made to Crave, but I’ve been enjoying seeing everyone’s excerpts from it lately. It’s a nice side benefit from following bloggers who participate in the same reading challenge. 🙂

    I’ve listened to Ravi Zacharis on the radio for years (and now on podcasts) but I don’t think I’ve ever read one of his books. I’ll look forward to hearing what you think about Walking from East to West. And also what you think about the empty nest book, also one I haven’t read.

    I’m trying to stay true to my reading challenge lists too, but I’ve definitely cracked here and there. ha. Hopefully it’ll all still work out anyway.

  2. You certainly got a lot accomplished even though the Olympics were going on!
    I have been contemplating Bleak House. Looking forward to your thoughts on that one!
    Again I have taken on too many review books to take part in RTK in March! {{sigh}} I hope to get back on board.

  3. I’m reading and enjoying the Little House Cookbook for your challenge — also making several recipes from it, which is fun 🙂 I remember as a child not enjoying “Farmer Boy” as much as the others. It would be interesting to re-read it now and see what I think. I’m sure eventually I will!

  4. I remember reading The Woman in White a few years ago and enjoying it. I really should read some more from him.

    We enjoyed the Olympics here as well!

  5. I thought I’d be reading LIW to my daughter’s class, but we had a snow day instead. 😦 I am very curious about Bleak House. I bought a used copy a while ago, but haven’t been motivated to read it. Convince me!

  6. You are a better person than I am. That fiction would be in my hands while all my challenge books would be sitting all lonely! I hope you enjoy The Little White Horse. It is a favorite in our house.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

