Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

 

It’s Friday, time to look back over the blessings of the week with Susanne at Living to Tell the Story and other friends.

1. Lovely weather. We had a little cold, some rain, some thunderstorms, but overall it has been really nice weather with sunshine most days and temperatures in the 70s some days. Felt so good after the old snap the last couple of weeks.

2. My daughter-in-law’s birthday yesterday, a fun family time.

photo(1)
Thought this picture of when we were singing Happy Birthday was sweet. 🙂

3. Cake pops.

photo

Last Christmas Jason and Mittu bought me a cake pop maker, but I hadn’t used it yet. Mittu requested them for her birthday, and it was fun to get the stuff out and play. I obviously need to work on my technique so that the icing doesn’t dribble down the stick. 🙂 By the way, the Betty Crocker gluten free devil’s food cake mix was really good. Some other gluten-free cakes we’ve had were very heavy, but this tasted just like regular cake.

4. A day out. Normally I prefer staying at home and ordering online, but one item I needed for Mittu’s birthday was cheaper in town. I had a couple of gift cards for places nearby as well, so I took the better part of an afternoon doing some shopping and finding some things I needed. It was one of those gorgeous, just-right days I mentioned earlier. I had felt cooped up for a while between weather and Jim’s mom’s aide not being able to come in due a few days due to weather, so it felt really good to get out and about.

5. Jesse’s internship plans finalized. My youngest son is required to do an internship this semester, and had tried several leads, but nothing had worked out yet. His director had found another possibility, and things were looking really good for this one, but it wasn’t completely finalized until this morning when he had an interview. That is SUCH a relief!

Happy Friday!

7 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. Love those cake pops! Great idea! yes! to nicer days! Praying for many more to come soon… As is everyone I’m sure I am extremely tired of this long winter!
    Glad Jesse’s internship has been settled!

  2. Those cake pops are really cute. I’ve never tried to make them. I’ sure Josie would love them.

    So glad your son’s internship is sorted – a relief for everyone.

    A very sweet picture of your daughter-in-law!

    Happy weekend!

  3. It’s wonderful to get out when you’ve got that “cooped up” feeling. Shopping with gift cards is the best!

    I’ve never tried making cake pops but I’ve eaten some good ones!

    Happy birthday to Mittu and congratulations to Jesse.

  4. Congrats to Jesse — and what a relief to Mom, too 🙂 Happy Birthday to your sweet DIL. The cake pops look delicious. I’ve heard they are a pain to make, but I do enjoy eating them!

  5. Looks like another wonderful family celebration! I love how you guys are all so close. I’ve been a bit cooped up too around here and it was nice to get out and do a little stint at the mall.

  6. Happy birthday Mittu! And a fun way to do birthday cake this year. A gorgeous day to be out — and the opportunity to be out? Definitely a fave. Perhaps spring is coming after all 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

