Reading Challenge Update

2014tbrbuttonRoof Beam Reader, who hosts the 2014 TBR Pile Challenge, has check-in points around the 15th of each month so we can summarize how we’re doing.

Of the 12 books I’ve listed here, I’ve completed Ida Scudder, am about halfway through Made to Crave and Walking From East to West, and am a few chapters into Crowded to Christ. So I think I’m pretty much on track there.

classics2014I might as well update the other challenges, too: for the Back to the Classics Challenge, I’ve completed two from the required categories of my list (The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery and The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy), and am about 3/4 of the way through The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (which I am finding riveting!) From the optional categories I’ve completed A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and am about 1/4 of the way through Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder. That leaves me three from the required and two from the optional lists, so I think I am in good shape there, too.

The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery was also read in connection with Carrie’s  L. M. Montgomery Reading Challenge and Reading to Know Classics Book Club and Farmer Boy is part of my Laura Ingalls Wilder Reading Challenge. Crowded to Christ is also part of the The Cloud of Witnesses Challenge. And Crowded to Christ, Made to Crave, Ida Scudder and Walking From East to West are all eligible for the Nonfiction Reading Challenge in which I am aiming to read 11-15  nonfiction books.

It’s funny how just having made these lists is spurring me on to more purposeful reading. And now I am going to have to read more Sherlock Holmes and Wilkie Collins when I get done with these challenges!

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update

  1. You’re doing great with your challenges. Me? Not so good. ha. I messed up by walking into a library. Nonetheless, I’m really enjoying the books not on my list, and hopefully it won’t mess up any of the challenges. I’m getting ready to start The Scarlet Pimpernel as soon as I finish And the Mountains Echoed. I can keep several non-fiction books going at a time, but only one novel at a time. 🙂

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

