Friday’s Fave Fives

FFF birds on a wire

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

It’s been another not-quite-normal week, but a good one overall. Here are the highlights:

1. A changed perspective. It has been overcast much of the week, raining some, and down in the 30s, which would normally cloud my own outlook a bit. But after the ice and snow and 1 degree temperatures a few weeks ago, the weather this week hasn’t bothered me at all.

2. Special services on Sunday. We had the Aaron Coffey team at church for Sunday School and both services. I had heard of him, and our church supports him, but I had never heard him preach or his team sing. Evidently this is the first year they’ve had a team traveling with them. Both the music and the preaching really ministered to me.

3. Watching sports, not a usual thing for our family, but there is something about the Olympics that draws me in. I’ve already enjoyed watching a bit of ice skating last night and look forward to the opening ceremonies tonight. We don’t usually watch football, either, and had no interest in either team in the Super Bowl, but Jason and Mittu were here and we turned it on and got some pizza and chicken wings. It was kind of fun to be in on what so much of the country was watching and to know what people were talking about when they mentioned it on Facebook, even if the game itself was kind of a wash.

4. Not an ER visit, but the fact that it was relatively minor, that my dear family all jumped in in different ways to help, and that the follow-up doctor’s visit concluded that if this is the first time it has happened in several years, we probably don’t need to change anything we’re doing unless it starts happening more frequently.

5. Progress on two fronts. I started exercising again, and as much as I don’t look forward to it, I have to admit I do feel better, more energetic, and more awake when I do it. And Jesse is supposed to do an internship this semester, but so far all the leads he has checked out haven’t worked out. There is a possibility that just came up this week that looks really good and looks like it might work out.

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Fives

  1. I have not been able to read much in the blog world this week so I have much catching up to do… Hope you are feeling better and I find this strange! More than one person I know going through this exact same thing! Will keep you in my prayers Sister!
    It is good that you can look at 30* as not so bad! When we get a day over 20* we rejoice! This has been a very very cold winter. Sky rocketing propane costs are hurting everyone in our area.
    Special services are nice. Especially when minister to you so thoroughly.
    God Bless you today!

  2. Oh i’m so happy to hear you are working out again. i am too but got struck by a wicked sinus infection this past week and just don’t have the energy to get on that bike! and too cold to power walk outside. I’m determined to get back to the bike by sunday now that i’m finally on an antibiotic. Will say a prayer for your son and his internship. My oldest needs an internship next semester (in the fall of 2014) and I’m already praying!! Have a good week and think spring!!

  3. Sounds like a very interesting week. I’m glad that things worked out for you in a minor way with the ER. Glad you are feeling better with exercise…
    Funny how our weather woes are relative to how much worse they can be!
    Have a great weekend.

  4. Nice when the family jumps in ! I didn’t watch the opening of the Olympic games in Russia. I am too upset about the costs and the power show of Putin, while most of the Russians are living in poverty.

  5. Fun that your family gathered around a different activity and had fun together. And good news that your condition is being monitored carefully after this week’s episode. Does your exercise help it?

  6. I always enjoy watching the Olympics too, even though I am not sports minded in any way. I just like hearing the stories of the athletes.

    It’s always the story, for me!

    Anyway, I’m glad your story of your time in the ER turned out okay. It’s always good to keep an eye on things.

    Good job on starting to exercise!

  7. I love the Olympics and have watched with great interest the new sport in it this year, Snowboarding. The air those guys get in the jumps and the beautiful scenery have just kept me glued.

    I’m behind on visiting the blogs and had no idea you had an ER visit this week. I’ll have to link over and read about it but it sounds like things are okay now?

    Way to go on starting to exercise again. I can’t say it’s my favorite thing but it sure feels good when I’m done!

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

