Friday’s Fave Five

FFF birds on a wire

Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five, hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, in which we can share five of our favorite things from the last week, a wonderful exercise in looking for and appreciating the good things God blesses us with. Click on the button to learn more, then go to Susanne’s to read others’ faves and link up your own.

I almost didn’t do a FFF today – I wasn’t sure if I would have time, at least not until later in the day. It was a strange and off-kilter week with a dentist appointment that I thought was for a cleaning turning out to be for a gingivectomy I had forgotten about, Jim’s mom’s caregiver’s accident, a distressing day for his mom with getting confused and disoriented – nothing “favorite” about it really stood out at first. But sometimes it’s that kind of week when it is most helpful to actively look for bright spots. So here are some faves from this week:

1. Safety on the roads. I mentioned yesterday that my mother-in-law’s caregiver left early when it snowed on Tuesday, and ended up in a ditch that had some boulders in it. Thankfully she wasn’t hurt, and her husband picked her up, with AAA advising her to leave the car there since it was off the road, and they’d get to it when they could. Then, after they left, another car went into the ditch behind her and crashed into her car from behind. 😦  I’m just thankful she wasn’t still in it waiting for her husband when that happened. Then Jesse and Jim made it home safely – I was especially concerned about Jesse since he hasn’t had much experience driving in the snow.

I know some folks from up North get amused at us Southerners about dealing with snow, but they just can’t invest in all the snow plows and such here when they would only need them once or twice a year. In fact, I saw this on Facebook:

Be patient. We only have one snow plow.

Be patient. We only have one snow plow.

🙂 Seriously, though, snow is slippery, and we truly don’t have the resources the North has to take care of the roads, and most people here aren’t used to driving in it, so all of that combined creates driving hazards.

2. Warmth. It’s been another bitterly cold week, and I’m so glad for central heating and the power not going out and pipes not freezing.

3. Pizza. My favorite pizza is from a local place that my husband doesn’t care for, so one night this week when he had a dinner he had to attend, I splurged and got pizza.

4. Helpers. I also mentioned yesterday that Grandma’s caregiver being away for a day and a half made me appreciate her all the more, since it was the first time I had had to care for Grandma alone for that amount of time. I was praying the time would go smoothly, especially as she’d had a distressing evening before, and God graciously answered. Then our weekend helper got a full time job and therefore quit her weekend one, and the service we use has been searching for someone to replace her. They sent someone to fill in last weekend, but we were hoping we wouldn’t have several weekends of fill-ins –  Jim didn’t want to spend every weekend showing someone new the ropes. But a new person just applied and was hired this week, and she has been out a couple of times to train with the regular caregiver, so hopefully she’ll work out and be a regular.

5. The end of January. Someone that seems like a giant leap toward spring.

Bonus: The ladies’ newsletter for church coming together, especially during a week when so much else was going on. It’s interesting when I get started and I’m not sure what to put in the different sections, and then somehow God lays different things on my heart, and it all falls together. God answers prayer even about newsletters and caregivers and smooth days after rough ones.

15 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. This week’s weather was just horrible for all you down South! Living in Canada, we get snow quite regularly (although not as much as most of Canada), and life just goes on as normal. So I was tempted to laugh until I saw that the problem was ice – that stuff is nasty! So I’m glad it’s all over & hopefully won’t be back this winter. Glad your caregiver is safe!

    Praise the Lord that your caregivers are being replaced quickly. I’m sure that’s a stressful thing for Grandma, having to learn so many new people. Praying that everything works out well for all of you.

  2. I too had to really think about my week to find some faves. But they were revealed. 🙂 It seems to me that even here in the mid-west we have over reacted to a snow storm or two. When I was a kid we never missed school unless we had “feet” of snow. If we get a couple inches they are cancelling now. I too am glad January is marked off: as you said spring is closer and I am almost done with taxes! Now I can get 2014 organized and off to a good start.

  3. Love that snow plow car is hilarious. It looks like something that you’d find in Russia. Glad you could find things to be joyful about in the midst of hard things this week…

  4. well my husband got stuck down south due to no flights outta Atlanta and he was NOT amused. (although we totally understand why it was so hectic down there…..y’all can’t deal with that surprise snow and ice!). At any rate, he finally got a flight to Philly and then on to here in Albany. I’m SOooo glad he is safely home even though it IS 2 days later than originally planned. I love a good ‘za and yay for January being over!! THINK SPRING!

  5. We have the same problem when it snows or even when the temperatures are going down to – 15 °C we are not equipped for that either. It never snows that much, so when we have 3 snowflakes the whole traffic breaks down !

  6. Barb, I am glad you posted. One, I get to “see” how you are doing and know how to pray and two, it seems there is always a take-away for me. Like this time, it was the snowplow. For some reason that struck me as funny. I am still smiling about it.

    It is awesome that God is a creative God and He does share. I’ve also had that experience of seeing God provide just the right articles, ideas, etc.

    Have a blessed week.

  7. Love that you joined in anyway in spite of the fact that it was a difficult week. It’s especially in those kinds of weeks that looking for blessings is so important. And I think you found some great ones. We watched the news in awe as everything was unfolding in the South with that storm, especially in Georgia (which is the area the news here focused most on). I must admit it is amazing to realize kids slept in schools and people were abandoning their vehicles with what looks like just a bit of snow to us who are used to it. Glad everyone was safe in your family and that your caregiver was not in her car when it got hit in the ditch. That is scary!

  8. I’m glad you found blessings and faves in such a week. It’s a good reminder for me when my week doesn’t go as planned. 🙂
    Thankful for safety on your roads, too.
    Have a great weekend!

  9. That little snow plow cracks me up. I swear our road department used that last week to clear our street. It was like no plow ever came down it. I almost side swiped a neighbor trying to pull out of the neighborhood 😦
    Hope you enjoyed your pizza!!

  10. Love that bonus fave, Barbara. I’m sure it must feel great to have the pieces come together to a cohesive whole. Hope you all survive this unusual snow without further accidents.

  11. So glad your caregivers were safe – icy roads make for treacherous driving even for us Northerners. We were watching that storm on TV. Hard to believe kids were stuck for hours on busses and in schools. We saw the clip where they were delivering food from Chick Fil A. Quite a time!

    Hope you get the caretaker situation sorted out soon!

  12. I am one of those who have scoffed for years at the “wimps” who cancel school for a couple inches of snow. And truly, whenever Lincoln Nebraska does it, it is wimpy.

    Now that I’m a bit further south, where people aren’t used to driving in snow, I feel like even small amounts of snow really are worth caution. Even with okay snow removal, it takes a different skill set to drive in snow–and Wichita residents don’t get snow frequently enough for them to develop that skill set.

    I’m glad that you’re all safe!

    (Also, I couldn’t help but laugh about your pizza. Daniel and I generally share an entree at restaurants, which works well on the pocket book but means I generally let him choose an entree without any mushrooms in it–since he’s not a fan. So whenever I happen to find myself at a restaurant without him, or if we’ve decided to each buy our own entrees, I always find myself hunting down the mushroom dishes!)

  13. If you aren’t used to it, snow can be a scary thing to drive in- and ice even more! My husband, a seasoned ‘weather’ driver, said driving on ice this week in the south was scary even for him because the roads just were not kept up for it. Glad your caretaker made it home safely, and especially that she wasn’t in the car when it was hit!

    So happy you were able to find blessings in the midst of your challenging week! I definitely appreciate Susanne for hosting this because it focuses us away from the hard things and toward the good things. :o)

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you, but please keep it civil. Thanks!

